2010 East Texas Little League® Tournament Results
Unpage Home | Texas Main Page

Texas East State Tournament
Major Baseball Division

Toward the past

Toward the present

Texas East State Tournament
Host - Rose Capital (Tyler)
At Randy Womble Field; Faulkner Park

Participating Teams
Texas East Section 1 Champions Northwest (Austin) (District 11)
Texas East Section 2 Champions Jasper Youth Baseball (District 12)
Texas East Section 3 Champions Pearland White (District 15)
Texas East Section 4 Champions Lamar National (Richmond) (District 18)

Click here to view 2010 district tournament results for Texas East.

Tournament Results:

Opening Round:
Pearland White 19, Jasper Youth Baseball 11
Lamar National 24, Northwest 1

Elimination Bracket Semifinal (four teams remain):
Jasper Youth Baseball 2, Northwest 1 (elim.)

Winner's Bracket Final:
Pearland White 7, Lamar National 3

Elimination Bracket Final (three teams remain):
Jasper Youth Baseball 6, Lamar National 3 (elim.)

Championship Game:
Pearland White 10, Jasper Youth Baseball 0 (TITLE)


Pearland White scored in double-digits against Jasper for the second time in a four-day span, and cruised to a 10-0 victory in the Texas East championship game at Faulkner Park in Tyler.

Pearland scored in five of the championship game's six innings, and in 14 of their 18 offensive innings in their three state tournament wins. The District 15 champions led 2-0 through three innings, then pulled away with two-run rallies in the fourth and fifth innings before adding four runs in the top of the sixth.

Hunter Smith led the thirteen-hit Pearland attack with a home run, while Blake Toler, Mason Van Noort, and Pryce Beshoory each doubled. Van Noort allowed just four hits in a six inning complete game pitching effort as Pearland advanced to region tournament competition for the second time in the league's history. Pearland Little League won the Texas-wide state championship in 1996 before the league was split into Maroon and White charters.

Pearland had also defeated Jasper in the tournament's opening game, when the eventual champions slammed five home runs in a 19-11 victory. Pearland scored in every inning, collected fourteen hits, and capitalized on seven Jasper errors in the win. The errors eventually led to six of Pearland's runs.

Caleb Maly opened the scoring for Pearland with a grand slam home run, before Van Noort, Jaron Roblyer, and Toler also cleared the fences. Jorge Gutierrez added another grand slam late in the game as Pearland stretched a 10-6 lead with four runs in the fifth inning and five more in the sixth. Jasper tallied five runs in the bottom of the sixth to close out the scoring.

The next day, Pearland White trailed Lamar Little League early in the game, but rallied for three runs in the fourth inning to take the lead for good in a 7-3 victory. Pearland pitcher Beau Orlando surrendered two runs in the first inning, then kept Lamar off the scoreboard before giving way to Van Noort in the fifth inning.

Lamar left eight runners on base in the game, while Pearland scored four unearned runs and converted just five hits into seven runs. Van Noort homered for the winners, while Gutierrez and Smith added doubles.

Jasper earned a rematch with Pearland White by edging Northwest Austin Little League, 2-1, and then eliminating Lamar National, 6-3. Pitcher Zane Delay struck out thirteen batters in the win, including ten of the first twelve hitters he faced. Jasper grabbed an early lead on shortstop Dustin Foshee's solo home run in the second inning, then took control with a four-run burst in the fourth inning. Ben Stover, Foshee, Delay, and Brandon Warran all scored runs in the rally. The win lifted Jasper into the state championship game for the first time in the league's history.

Pearland also broke new ground later in the tournament -- the new Texas East champions later won the Southwestern Region tournament, and advanced to the Little League World Series for the first time. Pearland won its pool at the Little League World Series before falling to Waipio Little League (Waipahu, Hawaii) in the United States championship game.

Follow Pearland White at the Southwestern Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.


  Winner's Bracket Final 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
Pearland White 0 0 1 3 3 0 7 5 2
Lamar National 2 0 0 1 0 0 3 7 0
  Championship Game
Pearland White 1 1 0 2 2 4 10 13 0
Jasper Youth Baseball 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 3

2010 Texas East District Champions and Sectional Tournament Results:

District Champions
in Texas East Section 1
District Champions
in Texas East Section 2
D10 - Rose Capital West National (Tyler)
D11 - Northwest (Austin)
D13 - Washington County (Brenham)
D30 - Taylor
D33 - Bryan Harvey

Texas East Section 1 Tournament
Host - Crockett Merchants (District 10)
At Crockett Merchants Little League Field

Tournament Results:
1 - Rose Capital West National 12, Bryan Harvey 8
2 - Washington County 9, Taylor 4
3 - Northwest 6, Rose Capital West National 5
4 - Taylor 5, Bryan Harvey 4 (elim.)
5 - Washington County 8, Northwest 5
6 - Taylor 12, Rose Capital West National 11 (elim.)
7 - Northwest 1, Taylor 0 (elim.)
8 - Northwest 17, Washington County 2 (4 innings)
9 - Northwest 6, Washington County 5 (TITLE)

D12 - Jasper Youth Baseball
D17 - Barbers Hill (Mount Belvieu)
D28 - ORWALL American (The Woodlands)
D32 - Bridge City

Texas East Section 2 Tournament
Host - Jasper Youth Baseball (District 12)

Tournament Results:
1 - Jasper Youth Baseball 14, Barbers Hill 6
2 - Bridge City 7, ORWALL American 2
3 - Jasper Youth Baseball 6, Bridge City 0
4 - ORWALL American 5, Barbers Hill 4 (elim.)
5 - Bridge City 10, ORWALL American 0 (elim.)
6 - Jasper Youth Baseball 15, Bridge City 5 (TITLE)

District Champions
in Texas East Section 3
District Champions
in Texas East Section 4
D14 - League City National
D15 - Pearland White
D16 - First Colony National (Sugar Land)
D25 - Huffman

Texas East Section 3 Tournament
Host - West University (Houston) (District 16)

Tournament Results:
1 - League City National 13, Huffman 5
2 - Pearland White 10, First Colony National 0
3 - League City 10, Pearland White 1 (4 innings; rain)
4 - First Colony National 15, Huffman 2 (elim.)
5 - Pearland White 16, First Colony National 13 (elim.)
6 - Pearland White 13, League City National 3
7 - Pearland White 4, League City National 3 (TITLE)

D18 - Lamar National (Richmond)
D27 - Victoria Northeast
D29 - Sinton
D31 - New Braunfels Blue

Texas East Section 4 Tournament
Host - Victoria (District 27)
At Victoria Youth Sports Complex

Tournament Results:
1 - Lamar National 1, Sinton 0
2 - New Braunfels Blue 9, Victoria Northeast 7
3 - Lamar National 14, New Braunfels Blue 0
4 - Victoria Northeast 9, Sinton 3 (elim.)
5 - New Braunfels Blue 6, Victoria Northeast 3 (elim.)
6 - Lamar National 12, New Braunfels 1 (TITLE)

Toward the past

Toward the present

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting
Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2011, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/12/2011