2008 East Texas Little League® Tournament Results
Unpage Home | Texas Main Page

East Texas Divisional Tournament
Major Baseball Division

Toward the past

Toward the present

East Texas Divisional Tournament
Host - Rose Capital LL (Tyler) (District 10)
At Faulkner Park

Participating Teams
East Texas Section 1 Champions Rose Capital East National (Tyler) (District 10)
East Texas Section 2 Champions Nederland (District 32)
East Texas Section 3 Champions Bellaire (District 16)
East Texas Section 4 Champions Lamar American (Richmond) (District 18)

Click here to view 2008 district tournament results for Texas East.

Tournament Results:

Opening Round:
Lamar American 3, Rose Capital East National 2 (7 innings)
Nederland 7, Bellaire 5

Elimination Bracket Semifinals (four teams remain):
Rose Capital East National 14, Bellaire 10 (elim.)

Winner's Bracket Finals:
Lamar American 11, Nederland 0 (4 innings)

Elimination Bracket Finals (three teams remain):
Rose Capital East National 10, Nederland 8 (elim.)

Championship Game:
Lamar American 7, Rose Capital East National 0 (TITLE)


Ramon Gonzales and Reid Garrett combined on a championship game no-hitter as Lamar American Little League defeated Rose Capital East National Little League, 7-0, in the Texas East state championship game at Faulkner Park in Tyler.

Gonzales allowed just three baserunners in 5-1/3 innings before reaching the 85-pitch count limit, and Garrett recorded the final two outs to cement the victory. Lamar American scored in each of the game's first four innings to defeat its Tyler-based opponent for the second time in the tournament.

The victory made Lamar American the third Richmond-based league to claim the Texas East championship in five years. Lamar National Little League won consecutive Texas East and Southwestern Region championships in 2003 and 2004 before being split into American and National league charters in 2005. Lamar National Little League was the Texas East runner-up in 2007.

Lamar American managed just one hit in the game's first three innings, but opened a 4-0 lead by capitalizing on four Tyler errors. Cameron Bourdeaux slammed a three-run home run over the left-center field fence in the fourth to complete the scoring.

Gonzales and Garrett had also teamed to defeat Rose Capital East National in the tournament's opening game, when Lamar American edged the District 10 champions, 3-2 in seven innings. Lamar opened the scoring in this initial meeting with two runs in the top of the fourth inning, but Tyler's Patrick Day tied the game by drilling a two-run homer in the bottom of the inning. Bourdeaux snapped the tie with a one-out home run in the top of the seventh.

Other than Day's two-out, two-strike blow, Lamar American pitchers did not allow a run in three state tournament contests. The teams' pitchers allowed just five hits to opposing hitters in the tournament.

Lamar American reached the championship game with a four inning, 11-0 victory over Nederland Little League. Stone Garrett drilled a home run beyond the left field fence on the game's first pitch, and second-place hitter Bourdeaux followed with a blast to the same spot on a 3-2 pitch. Dillon Turney added a two run double later in the inning to sore Kyle Owen and Duncan McNair later in the inning.

Gonzales and Owen added run-scoring hits in the second inning, while Stone Garrett and Bourdeaux delivered RBI hits in the third. Pitcher Nate Bertness pushed the lead to double-digits with a two-run homer later in the third.

Bertness struck out eight batters in three-plus innings on the mound. Garrett escaped a bases-loaded threat in the fourth to close out the combined two-hitter and propel Lamar American to its twelfth consective victory since the start of international tournament play. Lamar American outscored its Texas East opponents by a 145-21 margin.

Rose Capital East National rebounded from its opening round loss to win a pair of games and become the first Tyler team ever to reach the state championship game in the major baseball division. The Nationals overcame an early 7-4 deficit in a 14-10 victory over Bellaire Little League, then trailed 6-0 before toppling Nederland, 10-8. Trace Reed, Jake Parker, and Patrick Mahomes each hit two-run homers for Tyler in the win over Bellaire, while Reed, Mahomes, and Dallas Stefano cleared the fences against Nederland.

Lamar American advanced to the Southwestern Region tournament with their victories in Tyler. The Texas East champions extended their winning streak to 16 consecutive games by sweeping three pool opponents and then edging Lubbock Southwest (Texas West) Little League, 1-0, in the semifinal round. Lamar American led for much of the region championship game, but South Lake Charles (Louisiana) Little League rallied from deficits in both the sixth and seventh innings to claim an 8-7 victory and advance to the Little League World Series.

Follow Lamar American at the Southwestern Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.


  Winner's Bracket Final 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
Lamar American 4 2 4 1 11 12 0
Nederland 0 0 0 0 0 2 3
  Championship Game
Rose Capital East National 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4
Lamar American 1 2 1 3 0 x 7 6 2

2008 East Texas District Champions and Sectional Tournament Results:

District Champions
in Texas East Section 1
District Champions
in Texas East Section 2
D10 - Rose Capital East National (Tyler)
D11 - Northwest Austin
D13 - Washington County (Brenham)
D30 - Bastrop
D33 - Bryan American North

East Texas Section 1 Tournament
Host - Pflugerville (District 30)

Tournament Results:
1 - Washington County 10, Northwest Austin 6
2 - Bastrop 8, Bryan American North 6
3 - Rose Capital East National 9, Washington County 3
4 - Northwest Austin 18, Bryan American North 5 (elim.)
5 - Rose Capital East National 13, Bastrop 1
6 - Washington County 13, Northwest Austin 12 (elim.)
7 - Bastrop 16, Washington County 15 (elim.)
8 - Rose Capital East National 5, Bastrop 0 (TITLE)

D12 - Lumberton
D17 - North Shore (Houston)
D28 - ORWALL National (The Woodlands)
D32 - Nederland

East Texas Section 2 Tournament
Host - ORWALL (The Woodlands) (District 28)

Tournament Results:
1 - ORWALL National 6, North Shore 0
2 - Nederland 2, Lumberton 0
3 - Nederland 9, ORWALL National 4
4 - Lumberton 3, North Shore 0 (elim.)
5 - ORWALL National 5, Lumberton 3 (elim.)
6 - Nederland 3, ORWALL National 2 (TITLE)

District Champions
in Texas East Section 3
District Champions
in Texas East Section 4
D14 - Baytown East
D15 - Pearland White
D16 - Bellaire
D25 - Parkwood National (Houston)

East Texas Section 3 Tournament
Host - League City (District 14)
At League City Sportsplex

Tournament Results:
1 - Pearland White 12, Parkwood National 2
2 - Bellaire 10, Baytown East 0
3 - Bellaire 6, Pearland White 1
4 - Parkwood National 10, Baytown East 9 (elim.)
5 - Pearland White 8, Parkwood National 1 (elim.)
6 - Bellaire 11, Pearland White 4 (TITLE)

D18 - Lamar American (Richmond)
D27 - Victoria Northeast
D29 - Sinton
D31 - Yoakum

East Texas Section 4 Tournament
Host - New Braunfels (District 31)

Tournament Results:
1 - Lamar American 5, Sinton 3
2 - Victoria Northeast 9, Yoakum 3
3 - Lamar American 19, Victoria Northeast 0 (4 innings)
4 - Sinton 18, Yoakum 8 (5 innings; elim.)
5 - Victoria Northeast 9, Sinton 7 (elim.)
6 - Lamar American 20, Victoria Northeast 0 (4 innings; TITLE)

Toward the past

Toward the present

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2009, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/13/2009