Texas State Champions in the 1960s

The 1960s was the most dominant era for Texas Little League programs -- six Texas state champions also claimed Southern Region crowns and advanced to the World Series. The last of these World Series qualifiers -- Houston's Westbury American squad in 1966 -- became the second Texas league ever to win the World Series with an 8-2 victory over West New York (NJ) American in the championship game.

Other World Series qualifiers in the 1960s were Fort Worth Northeast Optimist (1960), El Campo (1961), Del Rio Val Verde County (1962), North Houston National (1963), and Waco Northern (1965).

State Champions of the 1960s

1969 - Port Neches
1968 - Lubbock Dixie
1967 - Fort Worth East Side
1966 - Westbury American (Houston)
1965 - Waco Northern
1964 - Edgewood American (Houston)
1963 - North Houston National
1962 - Val Verde County (Del Rio)
1961 - El Campo
1960 - Fort Worth Northeast Optimist

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 02/22/2002