1997 Texas State Little League® Tournament Results

Texas State Tournament

Toward the past

Toward the present

Texas State Tournament
Host - Texas State LL Headquarters; Waco
At Marvin Norcross Stadium

Participating Teams:
Section 1 Champions
Section 2 Champions
Section 3 Champions
Section 4 Champions
Section 5 Champions
Section 6 Champions
Section 7 Champions
Section 8 Champions
Midland Northern (District 3)
Weatherford (District 7)
College Station National (District 33)
Yoakum (District 31)
ORWALL Central (District 28)
Pearland (District 15)
San Antonio McAllister Park American (District 19)
Sinton (District 29)

Tournament Results:

Opening Round:
Sinton 4, Weatherford 2
Yoakum 2, San Antonio McAllister Park American 0
ORWALL Central 2, Pearland 1
College Station National 2, Midland Northern 0

Loser's Bracket - Round 1 (eight teams remain):
San Antonio McAllister Park American 2, Weatherford 0 (elim.)
Pearland 7, Midland Northern 0 (elim.)

Winner's Bracket Semifinals:
Yoakum 2, Sinton 1
College Station National 6, ORWALL Central 4 (8 innings)

Loser's Bracket Quarterfinals (six teams remain):
ORWALL Central 11, San Antonio McAllister Park American 1 (elim.)
Pearland 8, Sinton 2 (10 innings; elim.)

Loser's Bracket Semifinals (four teams remain):
Pearland 6, ORWALL Central 2 (elim.)

Winner's Bracket Finals:
College Station National 5, Yoakum 1 (10 innings)

Loser's Bracket Finals (three teams remain):
Pearland 11, Yoakum 0 (4 innings; elim.)

Championship Series:
Pearland 9, College Station National 1
College Station National 6, Pearland 5 (TITLE)


College Station National halted Pearland's run through the loser's bracket with a 6-5 win in the 'if' game of the 1997 state tournament. Pearland, which was bidding to become the first team ever to capture back-to-back Texas titles, had dropped its state tourney opener 2-1 to ORWALL Central. The defending champions then reeled off five consecutive victories, including a tense ten inning struggle against Sinton and a 9-1 win over College Station that forced the 'if' game.

College Station advanced to the title game by outlasting Yoakum in ten innings in the winner's bracket finals. CS National's Wade Michalsky and Yoakum's Randy Boone -- who no-hit McAllister Park American in the opening round -- dueled each other pitch-for-pitch through nine innings. Michalsky struck out 15 and allowed only three hits, while Boone struck out 21 and allowed five hits, including a second inning home run by Zach Myatt that accounted for the early CS run. Little League tournament rules forced both pitchers to exit after nine innings, and College Station scored four runs in the top of the tenth to win it. The tie-breaking run scored when Kyle Nicholson singled off the pitcher's glove; Myatt added a two-run homer later in the inning.

Pearland then routed Yoakum 11-0 in four innings and beat College Station 9-1. In the win over College Station, Jacob Garcia and Blake Carter combined on a four hitter, while Garcia (3-for-4), Clint Mann, and Jeff Treadway all contributed singles in a five run fourth inning that broke the game open.

In the 'if' game, College Station jumped to an early 3-0 lead on Bobby Bramhall's sacrifice fly and Nicholson's two run double. Pearland got two back on Jordan Mayer's two run single in the third. The score remained 3-2 until CS National's Chuck Clayton lofted a pinch hit, three run homer in the fifth to put the game out of reach. Michalsky picked up the win despite allowing nine hits; he ended the game by striking out the side in the sixth inning.

College Station National went on to claim the title in its pool at the Southern Region tournament in St. Petersburg, FL, and advanced to the first U.S. Regional championship game ever to be nationally televised. CS National took a 2-0 lead -- and Michalsky a no-hitter -- into the bottom of the sixth inning against the G.T. Bray Manatee East LL (Bradenton, Florida) before Michalsky was injured on a hit back to the mound and the Florida squad rallied to tie the game. The two teams remained deadlocked into the bottom of the tenth inning before three consecutive bunts -- a single, a sacrifice, and a squeeze -- gave Manatee East a 3-2 victory and a World Series berth.

Follow College Station National at the Southern Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.


  First Championship Game 123456 RHE
Pearland 1025109101
College Station National 000010143
  Second Championship Game
College Station National 0 3 0 0 3 0 6 4 2
Pearland 0 0 2 0 3 0 5 9 1

Toward the past

Toward the present
The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/18/2002