Southern California Champions in the 1970s

Unlike the 1990s, when the West Region was dominated by Southern California leagues, the 1970s were a golden age for SoCal's Northern California counterparts. Only one Southern California league managed to parlay their success into a West Region title during the 1970s, as El Cajon Western won the U.S. title in 1977.

A pair of San Bernardino-based titlists -- San-Ri in 1974 and Civic in 1972 -- caused crowds at the Western Region Tournament to swell to record levels.

Select a year to see details from that year's Southern California tournament.

Southern California Champions of the 1970s

1979 - Goleta Valley South
1978 - Culver City American
1977 - El Cajon Western
1976 - Santa Ana Northeast
1975 - Northeast Garden Grove
1974 - San-Ri (San Bernardino/Rialto)
1973 - Concord National*
1972 - San Bernardino Civic*
1971 - Norwalk
1970 - Coronado

NOTE: California crowned a single state champion (instead of separate Northern and Southern California champions) in 1972 and 1973.

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2003, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 09/23/2003