Rhode Island State Champions in the 1970s

A pair of Rhode Island's most successful programs captured their first state titles during the 1970s. Bristol, which added a pair of titles in the early '80s, won the Rhode Island crown in 1976, while Cranston Western won the first of its four titles in 1979.

Middletown, which was a three-time winner in the 1960s, collected a fourth title in 1971 with a title game victory over North Providence West.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1970s

1979 - Cranston Western
1978 - Westerly American
1977 - Upper Valley (Cumberland/Lincoln)
1976 - Bristol
1975 - Barrington
1974 - Darlington National (Pawtucket)
1973 - Edgewood-South Elmwood
1972 - Burrillville
1971 - Middletown
1970 - Edgewood-South Elmwood

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 02/18/2002