Rhode Island State Champions in the 1960s

Rhode Island added a fourth district in 1966, and one year later, the new district's champion also took home a state title as Smithfield blanked Olneyville in the state title game. Smithfield had won a state title as the District 3 representative in 1964.

Middletown established itself as the dominant league in the 1960s by winning three state titles. Middletown, which also won top state honors in 1971, is one of only three Rhode Island leagues with four state titles in its collection.

Pawtucket Darlington American, one of the other four-time champions, won its first title in 1969.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1960s

1969 - Darlington American (Pawtucket)
1968 - Warwick West Side
1967 - Smithfield
1966 - Pawtucket
1965 - Middletown
1964 - Smithfield
1963 - Woonsocket Fair North
1962 - Middletown
1961 - Middletown
1960 - South County (Wakefield)

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 02/18/2002