Ontario Provincial Champions in the 1980s

Quebec's Rouyn Rotary Little League, which competed with nearby Northern Ontario leagues in Ontario's District 4, claimed a pair of Ontario titles in the early 1980s. Rouyn's 1982 squad, which featured future NHL mainstays Pierre Turgeon and Stephane Matteau, reached the World Series and took a Taiwan team to the limit before falling 10-7 in the International championship game.

Toronto High Park's 1989 provincial champions also reached the World Series. The newly-renamed league -- which reached the World Series in 1960 under the Parkdale Lions LL name -- shook off a 1-2 start at the Canadian championships to defeat Edmonton's Confederation Park LL 10-2 in the finals.

The Turtle Club reached the Ontario championship game four consecutive years, and finally broke through with a victory in 1984. The next year, Ottawa's Pinecrest Litle League began its own run of four consecutive championship game appearances. After a runner-up finish in 1985, the Patriots became the first Ontario league to win three consecutive titles with title game wins in 1986, 1987, and 1988. Pinecrest, which collected six District 2 titles in the eighties, reached the Canadian championship game in 1986 and 1988.

Select a year to see details from that year's provincial tournament.

Provincial Champions of the 1980s

1989 - High Park LL (Toronto)
1988 - Pinecrest LL (Ottawa)
1987 - Pinecrest LL (Ottawa)
1986 - Pinecrest LL (Ottawa)
1985 - Glanbrook LL (Binbrook)
1984 - Turtle Club LL (LaSalle)
1983 - Fort William National LL (Thunder Bay)
1982 - Rouyn Rotary LL (Quebec)
1981 - Rouyn Rotary LL (Quebec)
1980 - Brockville Legion LL

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 04/21/2002