Unpage Home | New Jersey Main Page

New Jersey State Champions in the 1990s

New Jersey teams were dominant at the Eastern Region Tournament in the 1990s. Four Garden State squads won region titles, and two more reached the championship game before falling. In 1998, the second of Toms River East American's three World Series teams became the first New Jersey team to win the World Series since Lakewood in 1975 by outslugging Kashima, Japan in the championship game. Several players on the 1998 World Series championship squad had brothers on Toms River's 1995 World Series team, while two 1998 team members returned for the 1999 Williamsport team.

Five leagues won their first New Jersey titles in the 1990s, and a sixth champion (Nottingham) became the winningest New Jersey program ever by claiming its third and fourth state championships. Nottingham eclipsed the mark of West New York American, which won three titles in the 1960s, and Cherry Hill American, which copped three crowns in the 1980s. Cherry Hill American narrowly missed a fourth crown when it was runner-up to North Hunterdon in 1997.

Nottingham's 1992 club reached the World Series before finishing as the U.S. runner-up. The league's back-to-back titles made Nottingham the first repeat champion in New Jersey in 26 years.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1990s

1999 - Toms River East American
1998 - Toms River East American
1997 - North Hunterdon (High Bridge)
1996 - Millburn-Short Hills
1995 - Toms River East American
1994 - Millburn-Short Hills
1993 - Nottingham (Hamilton Square)
1992 - Nottingham (Hamilton Square)
1991 - South Vineland
1990 - Brick National

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2004, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 04/26/2004