Unpage Home | New Jersey Main Page

New Jersey State Champions in the 1970s

The only non-Far East Little Leagues to win the Little League World Series in the 1970s came from New Jersey. Wayne American's 'mop-top' club bested the Campbell (CA) LL in 1970, while Lakewood's 1975 squad beat Tampa (FL) Belmont Heights to win a U.S.-only Little League World Series. Ridgewood National also earned a Little League World Series berth in 1979, but lost its quarterfinal round game.

Of the ten state champions in the 1970s, only one -- Wallington -- had previously won a state title.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1970s

1979 - Ridgewood National
1978 - Elizabethport
1977 - North Edison
1976 - Union American
1975 - Lakewood
1974 - Livingston American
1973 - Lodi American
1972 - Howell Central
1971 - Wallington
1970 - Wayne American

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2003, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 10/26/2003