Thank-you for visiting! This site provides coverage and results for every Minnesota State Little League Baseball Tournament held for the major baseball (11-12 years old) division since 1962.


This is not the official Little League Baseball website. We are not affiliated with Little League Baseball Incorporated, its international headquarters, or any chartered league. Little League Baseball has not in any way endorsed this site or its content.

"Little League Baseball" and "Little League" are registered trademarks of Little League Baseball, Inc., Williamsport, PA 17701, and are used here for identification purposes only. If you're looking for the official Little League Baseball home page, click here. Links to web sites for many individual leagues and districts can be found in the links section of this site.

What's New

(June 2021) -- A year after cancelling all tournament play due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Little League Baseball has announced plans for the 2021 international tournament. Following consultation with an advisory committee comprised of outside experts, Little League Baseball has decided to hold the 2021 Little League World Series and all of its qualifying tournaments for the Little League Baseball and Softball divisions (age 10-12 years). Other age divisions will end play at the state tournament level. For 2021 only, the Little League World Series will involve only U.S.-based leagues, with the top two finishers in each region advancing to the Little League World Series.

Little League Baseball has provided guidelines around attendance at the series and COVID protocols for tournament officials and volunteers -- details can be found on the official Little League Baseball website. Beyond this, local tournament officials will follow protocols established by local health authorities based on conditions in their specific area.

With this decision in place and U.S. tournament competition set to begin in the coming weeks, we have begun our coverage of the 2021 Minnesota state tournament -- click for details. If you can provide results or pairings for Minnesota district tournaments that are not listed on this site, please contact the Unpage.

(June 2019) -- We have begun our coverage of the 2019 Minnesota state tournament -- click for details. If you can provide results or pairings for Minnesota district tournaments that are not listed on this site, please contact the Unpage.

This site has been on the web since May 26, 2014. Click to contact the webmaster with any comments or questions about this page.

The Minnesota State Tournament

Minnesota's first Little League programs were chartered in the 1950s, and Ely Little League became the state's first entrant in the international tournament when they competed alongside leagues from Michigan's Upper Peninsula, Western Ontario, and Wisconsin in area tournament play during the middle part of that decade. Several other Minnesota leagues were soon created, including charters in St. Cloud and in the Twin Cities area, but Minnesota leagues often opted to compete in local post-season tournaments rather than the international tournament during this era.

Seven leagues were chartered in the Duluth area in 1961, and after the one-year waiting period that was required before entering tournament play during this era, the first state tournament was held in 1962. West Duluth Little League won this inaugural tournament, and the following year, Duluth Central Little League won the state tournament en route to Minnesota's first berth in the Little League World Series.

Throughout the 1960s, although Minnesota had several thriving charters in the Twin Cities area, only Northern Minnesota-based leagues opted to enter the international tournament. By 1975, though, there was sufficient interest in the tournament among Twin Cities-area leagues that the state was organized into two districts, with a Northern and Southern Minnesota league meeting in a single game playoff to determine the state champion.

With the exception of one year, Minnesota's champion between 1968 and 1981 advanced to a sectional tournament where they faced three bi-district winners from Wisconsin in a sectional tournament competition. (The champion of District 10 in Michigan's Upper Peninsula also competed in this tournament until 1974.) The winner of this tournamaent then advanced to face other Midwestern leagues for the right to advance to the Central Region Division 1 tournament. Beginning in 1990, however, Minnesota's state champion began advancing directly to region tournament competition.

Today, Minnesota has four districts, and the champions of these districts meet in a state tournament that determines Minnesota's representative in the Midwest Region tournament, which is held each year in Whitestown, Indiana. The Midwest Region winner advances to the Little League World Series. Seven Minnesota leagues have qualified for the Little League World Series, including the state's most recent qualifier, Coon Rapids Andover American Little League in 2019.

Click to view a timeline showing the evolution of the Minnesota Little League tournament structure.

Unpage National and Region Tournament Sites

Australian Region Mid-Atlantic Region Southeast Region
Canadian Region Midwest Region Southwest Region
Great Lakes Region New England Region Western Region
Japanese Region Northwest Region

Unpage State and Provincial Tournament Sites

Alabama Idaho New Jersey
Alaska Illinois New Mexico
Arizona Indiana New York NEW FOR 2021!
British Columbia Iowa Ontario
California (Northern) Kansas Oregon
California (Southern) Maine Pennsylvania
Colorado Maryland Rhode Island
Connecticut Massachusetts Texas (East and West)
Delaware Michigan Vermont
District of Columbia Minnesota Washington NEW FOR 2021!
Florida Montana Wisconsin
Georgia Nevada Wyoming

Unpage Region Tournament Sites (1957-2000)

Central Region Southern Region Western Region
Eastern Region

Unpage Region Tournament Sites (1949-1956)

Region 1 Region 4 Region 7
Region 2 Region 5 Region 8
Region 3 Region 6


Links to tournament coverage

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2021, Four Six Three LLC. All rights reserved.