Maine State Champions in the 1980s

Old Town became the first back-to-back Maine champion by winning titles in 1986 and 1987. The District 3 power won the first title in a single-elimination format, and then took the second in the first double-elimination Maine state tournament.

Waldo County opened the decade with six consecutive District 2 titles -- they won another in 1988 -- and parlayed their 1983 district crown into a state title. Old Town, Saco Maremont, South Portland National, Waldo County, and West Biddeford all won their first state titles during the 1980s.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1980s

1989 - Bangor West Side
1988 - Saco Maremont
1987 - Old Town
1986 - Old Town
1985 - Westbrook
1984 - Auburn Suburban
1983 - Waldo County
1982 - West Biddeford
1981 - South Portland National
1980 - Auburn Suburban

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 02/22/2002