Maine State Champions in the 1970s

Cape Elizabeth completed a stunning run of four state championships and ten district titles in a thirteen year span by defeating Winslow National 4-2 in the 1977 Maine championship game. Cape would wait 22 more years before winning its next district crown in 1999.

The big winner in the 1970s was Augusta East. Following their 1971 state championship, Augusta ran the table at the Eastern Region tournament in New London, Connecticut. Augusta East defeated Wallington, New Jersey 3-2 in the championship game to become only the second Maine league to qualify for the Little League World Series.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1970s

1979 - Westbrook
1978 - Cumberland Suburban
1977 - Cape Elizabeth
1976 - Auburn Suburban
1975 - Brewer
1974 - Cape Elizabeth
1973 - Millinocket
1972 - Cape Elizabeth
1971 - Augusta East
1970 - Auburn

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 02/22/2002