1980 Kansas State Little League® Tournament Results

Kansas State Tournament

Toward the past

Toward the present

Kansas State Tournament
Host - Baxter Springs
At Baxter Springs LL Field

Participating Teams:
District 1 Area Champions
District 1 Area Champions
District 2 Area Champions
District 2 Area Champions
Scott County (Scott City)
Grant County (Ulysses)
Baxter Springs
Olathe West

Tournament Results:

Semifinals (District Championship Games):
Baxter Springs 3, Olathe West 2
Grant County 7, Scott County 1

State Championship Game:
Baxter Springs 15, Grant County 4 (TITLE)

Consolation result:
Olathe West 18, Scott County 0


A pair of controversial balk calls in the bottom of the sixth inning plated the tying and winning runs in Baxter Springs' semifinal win over Olathe West, and Baxter then rolled past Grant County to win its third state title in five years.

In the semifinal win, Olathe West jumped to a 2-0 first inning lead on a double by pitcher Kim Burnett, a single by Brad Hinkle, a pair of walks, and a wild pitch. Burnett (10 strikeouts) shut down the Baxter offense until the fifth, when a bases-loaded wild pitch scored Mike Gibson and cut Olathe's lead to 2-1.

In the controversial sixth, Burnett walked Rusty Spence, Jeff Karnes, and Gibson before Olathe coach Jim Huber brought in reliever Toby Crane. While pitching to the next batter, Crane started his windup, but froze in the middle of it while still on the rubber. The game's umpires called a balk, and the game was tied. Crane began pitching to the next batter, but was called for a second balk when he received a return throw from his catcher while standing on the pitching rubber. The second balk call (which was upheld by Williamsport officials after Olathe protested the game) forced in the winning run.

Baxter's title game win was less controversial. It raced to a 7-0 lead early, then iced the win on Karnes' fourth inning grand slam and pitcher Jody Adams' sixth inning shot. Adams struck out 17 and pitched a no-hitter; however, he also issued ten walks that helped Ulysses to score four runs. Baxter Springs won a subsequent three-state sectional tournament (beating Canyon Lake [Rapid City, South Dakota] and Blair [Nebraska] before falling in the opening round of the four-team Central Region Division 1 tournament.

Follow Baxter Springs at the Central Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.

Toward the past

Toward the present
The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/18/2002