1970 Kansas State Little League® Tournament Results
Unpage Home | Kansas Main Page

Kansas State Tournament
Major Baseball Division


Toward the present

Kansas State Tournament
Host - Baxter Springs (District 2)

Participating Teams
District 1 Champions Hoisington
District 2 Champions Galena

Tournament Results:

State Championship Game:
Galena 10, Hoisington 0 (TITLE)


Bruce Secrist threw a no-hitter to lead his Galena Little League all-star team to a 10-0 victory over Hoisington Little League in the Kansas state championship game in Baxter Springs.

Secrist earned his third victory of the international tournament in Galena's title-clinching win. His earlier victories included a four-hit shutout in Galena's opening round win over Baxter Springs during area tournament competition, and also a 4-2 victory over Forbes Air Force Base in the District 2 tournament.

Galena scored once in the top of the first inning against Hoisington, then broke the game open with four runs in the fourth inning and five more in the sixth. The Eastern Kansas champions capitalized on nine Hoisington errors in the win.

Kansas' two district champions met for the state title in the opening round of a four-team sectional tournament at Baxter Springs Little League's field. Grand Island (Nebraska) and the champions of North/South Dakota also competed in the tournament, which determined one of the entrants in the North Region Division 1 tournament. Grand Island defeated Galena, 5-0, in the championship game of the sectional tournament.

Galena reached the state tournament by defeating Olathe in the District 2 championship game by a 9-7 score in eight innings. The game was tied 4-4 at the end of regulation play, then Galena scored five times in the top of the eighth inning and held on for the win despite a late Olathe flurry. Secrist hit his third home run of the international tournament in the win.


  Championship Game 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
Galena 1 0 0 4 0 5 10 7 2
Hoisington 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 9

Toward the present

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting
Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2007, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 05/20/2007