Iowa State Champions in the 1980s

Iowa leagues opened and closed the 1980s with World Series qualifiers. Grandview National roared past twelve straight opponents to qualify for the 1980 Little League World Series, while Davenport East -- the fifth different Davenport league to win a state title -- reached the World Series despite early round losses at the state and divisional tournaments.

Four of the state's five districts produced state champions during the 1980s. Davenport Emies, which had previously won the 1977 state championship, became Iowa's first back-to-back champion with wins in 1981 and 1982.

Sioux City Westside won that city's first state title in 1983.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1980s

1989 - Davenport East
1988 - South Des Moines
1987 - Monroe County (Albia)
1986 - Grandview (Des Moines)
1985 - Morningside National (Sioux City)
1984 - Ottumwa American
1983 - Sioux City Westside
1982 - Davenport Emies
1981 - Davenport Emies
1980 - Grandview National (Des Moines)

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 03/22/2002