Iowa State Champions in the 1970s

Windsor-Des Moines snapped a pair of streaks in 1976: the District 3 champions ended the Davenport area's three-year state championship streak, and they became the first Iowa league ever to reach the World Series when they defeated the Huron Shore LL (Alpena, Michigan) 7-1 in the Central Region championship game at North Riverdale, Ohio.

Four different Davenport leagues won state titles in the 1970s. Davenport Northwest's led the way by winning their second and third ever state titles in 1974 and 1979.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1970s

1979 - Davenport Northwest
1978 - West Des Moines East
1977 - Davenport Emies
1976 - Windsor-Des Moines
1975 - Davenport Southeast
1974 - Davenport Northwest
1973 - Davenport Central
1972 - Le Mars
1971 - Ottumwa National
1970 - Fort Des Moines

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 03/22/2002