Iowa State Champions in the 1950s

The first Iowa state tournament was held in 1957, when two area champions from District 1 (Western Iowa) and two area champions from District 2 (Eastern Iowa) met at Boone. Ottumwa American defeated Boone 7-3 at West Des Moines to claim the title. The Americans, who had also won district titles in 1955 and 1956, added a second state title in 1984.

Ottumwa's other leagues matched the Americans' early success: Ottumwa Midwest won the state title in 1959, and the Ottumwa National Little League took the crown in 1971.

Davenport Northwest, the other winner during the 1950s, also won the North Region Division 1 tournament before falling in the region semifinals. Prior to 1957, Iowa leagues competed alongside leagues from neighboring states in district tournaments.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1950s

1959 - Ottumwa Midwest
1958 - Davenport Northwest
1957 - Ottumwa American

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 03/22/2002