2011 Iowa State Little League® Tournament Results
Unpage Home | Iowa Main Page

Iowa State Tournament
Major Baseball Division

Toward the past

Toward the present

Iowa State Tournament
Host - Raccoon Valley (Des Moines) (District 5)

Participating Teams
District 1 Champions Boone National
District 2 Champions Davenport Southeast
District 3 Champions Urbandale
District 4 Champions Knoxville
District 5 Champions Grandview (Des Moines)
District 6 Champions Morningside (Sioux City)
District 7 Champions Ottumwa National

The seven state tournament qualifiers are divided into two separate pools, and play a round-robin schedule within their pool. Pool competition is used for seeding purposes, and all seven teams advance to the tournament's single-elimination second phase.

Click here to view 2011 district tournament results for Iowa.

Tournament Results:

Day 1 (Saturday, July 23):
Ottumwa National 4, Knoxville 3
Grandview 7, Boone National 1
Davenport Southeast 16, Morningside 1
Grandview 8, Urbandale 7
Morningside 7, Knoxville 4

Day 2 (Sunday, July 24):
Ottumwa National 8, Davenport Southeast 3
Urbandale 15, Boone National 5
Knoxville 10, Davenport Southeast 5
Morningside 14, Ottumwa National 1

Pool 'A' Standings



Morningside 2 1 21
Ottumwa National 2 1 20
Knoxville 1 2 16
Davenport Southeast 1 2 19

Pool 'B' Standings



Grandview 2 0 8
Urbandale 1 1 13
Boone National 0 2 22

Pool competition is used for seeding purposes. All seven participating teams advance to the tournament's second phase.

Ties are broken based on records in head-to-head competition among tied teams. If a clear winner cannot be determined from head-to-head results, the tie is broken by calculating the ratio of runs allowed to defensive innings played for all teams involved in the tie. The team with the lowest runs-per-defensive-inning ratio advances.

In the event of a tie involving three or more teams, once the initial tie is broken, the remaining tied teams are again compared on head-to-head record to determine if a clear winner can be identified. If no clear winner can be identified from head-to-head results among the remaining tied teams, the runs-per-defensive-inning ratio is again used. This process is repeated until all ties have been broken.

Quarterfinal Round (Monday, July 25)

Boone National 4, Davenport Southeast 2
Urbandale 6, Ottumwa National 0
Grandview 16, Knoxville 4

Semifinal Round (Tuesday, July 26)

Boone National 5, Morningside 3
Grandview 14, Urbandale 4

Iowa State Championship Game (Wednesday, July 27)

Grandview 14, Boone National 0 (TITLE)


The format was different, but the result was the same.

Des Moines' Grandview Little League won a trio of games by ten-run margins, and earned its second consecutive state championship with a 14-0 victory over Boone National Little League at Raccoon Valley Little League's field in Des Moines.

The win gave Grandview its second consecutive Iowa championship in the major baseball division, and its seventh overall. Grandview moved out of a tie with Davenport Northwest for the most Iowa championships with its victory over Boone National.

Grandview opened the tournament with victories over the two teams it would eventually beat in the semifinal and championship rounds. The District 5 champions topped Boone National by a 7-1 margin in their first pool contest, then edged Urbandale later in the day by an 8-7 score.

Iowa shifted its state tournament from a round-robin schedule to a pool format that is followed by three rounds of elimination games. The move was made to accommodate a new District 7 which was formed in Iowa following the 2010 international tournament.

Boone National took advantage of the new format, which used pool results solely for seeding purposes. Boone was the only entrant in the state tournament to lose both of its pool games, but the District 1 winners then ousted Davenport Southeast Little League, 4-2, in the quarterfinal round and toppled top-seeded Morningside Little League by a 5-3 score in a semifinal round matchup.

Grandview had eliminated Knoxville Little League in its quarterfinal round game.

Grandview advanced to the Midwest Region tournament in Indianapolis, Indiana, as the Iowa state champion. The Des Moines team won three of its four pool game and advanced to the semifinal round, where they were eliminated by Kearney (Nebraska) Little League by a 5-1 score.

Follow the Iowa state champions at the Midwest Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.

Toward the past

Toward the present

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2012, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/10/2012