2009 Iowa State Little League® Tournament Results
Unpage Home | Iowa Main Page

Iowa State Tournament
Major Baseball Division

Toward the past

Toward the present

Iowa State Tournament
Host - Urbandale (District 3)

Participating Teams
District 1 Champions Boone National
District 2 Champions Davenport Northwest
District 3 Champions Urbandale
District 4 Champions Monroe County (Albia)
District 5 Champions Grandview (Des Moines)
District 6 Champions Headid (Sioux City)

NOTE: The Iowa State Tournament used a round-robin format. After preliminary round competition, the top two teams advanced to the championship game.

Click here to view 2009 district tournament results for Iowa.

Tournament Results:

Day 1 (Friday, July 17):
Urbandale 16, Grandview 8 (7 innings)
Monroe County 12, Headid 1 (4 innings)
Davenport Northwest 14, Boone National 6

Day 2 (Saturday, July 18):
Davenport Northwest 7, Headid 1
Urbandale 16, Boone National 0 (4 innings)
Monroe County 9, Grandview 6

Day 3 (Sunday, July 19):
Monroe County 16, Davenport Northwest 2 (6 innings)
Grandview 8, Boone National 3
Urbandale 14, Headid 0 (4 innings)

Day 4 (Monday, July 20):
Boone National 10, Headid 0 (4 innings)
Grandview 6, Davenport Northwest 2
Urbandale 13, Monroe County 5

Day 5 (Tuesday, July 21):
Monroe County 14, Boone National 1 (4 innings)
Urbandale 14, Davenport Northwest 10
Grandview 2, Headid 1




Urbandale 5 0 23
Monroe County 4 1 23
Grandview 3 2 31
Davenport Northwest 2 3 43
Boone National 1 4 52
Headid 0 5 45

The top two teams advance to the state championship game.

Ties are broken based on records in head-to-head competition among tied teams. If a clear winner cannot be determined from head-to-head results, the tie is broken by calculating the ratio of runs allowed to defensive innings played for all teams involved in the tie. The team with the lowest runs-per-defensive-inning ratio advances.

In the event of a tie involving three or more teams, once the initial tie is broken, the remaining tied teams are again compared on head-to-head record to determine if a clear winner can be identified. If no clear winner can be identified from head-to-head results among the remaining tied teams, the runs-per-defensive-inning ratio is again used. This process is repeated until all ties have been broken.

Iowa State Championship Game (Wednesday, July 22)

Urbandale 7, Monroe County 3 (TITLE)


Brody Egger drilled a two-run homer and pitched into the final inning as his Urbandale Little League all-star team downed Monroe County Little League, 7-3, in the championship game of the Iowa state tournament at Urbandale's field.

With the victory, the team's sixth in as many games at the state tournament, Urbandale became the first Iowa league ever to win three consecutive state championships in the major baseball division. It was Urbandale's 30th consecutive win over an Iowa opponent over the course of three summers, and ran the league's record against in-state competition since 2007 to 39-1. Urbandale capped its summer by also winning the Midwest Region tournament in Indianapolis, and advancing to the Little League World Series.

Egger faced just 17 batters in the game's first five innings, and after a scoreless first inning, Urbandale's offense produced runs in each of the team's next four at-bats to cement the victory.

Cole Scieszinski sparked Urbandale's initial rally, leading off the second inning with a double and later scoring on Jake Quirk's single. Jaran Sabus added a solo home run in the third, and after Urbandale tallied three more runs in the fourth, Egger added a two-run homer in the fifth to extend his team's lead to 7-0.

Victor Sanders delivered a three-run homer for Monroe County in the sixth, before Urbandale reliever Trae Cropp moved to the mound and recorded a game-ending strikeout.

Urbandale had scored ten or more runs in each of its prior thirteen games in the international tournament, including all five round-robin games in the state tournament. The league overwhelmed opponents by a 105-9 margin while winning its seventh consecutive District 3 championship, then defeated its five state tournament opponents by a 73-23 margin prior to the championship game.

Urbandale won its initial three state tournament games, then clinched a championship game berth with a 13-5 win over Monroe County in the teams' round-robin meeting. Urbandale outpaced Davenport Northwest Little League by a 14-10 score in its final round-robin game.

Monroe County won its first three games in the tournament, and followed the loss to Urbandale with a 14-1 victory over Boone National Little League to clinch second place in the round-robin standings. Sanders' three-hit, nine-strikeout effort sparked Monroe County to a 12-1 victory over Sioux City's Headid Little League on the tournament's first day, then Luke and Ryan Sarver combined to lift the team past Grandview Little League, 9-6, in their next outing. Luke Sarver struck out five and earned the win on the mound, while Ryan Sarver chipped in three hits, including a home run and a double, to spark Monroe County's offense.

Monroe County, which advanced to the state tournament for the first time since 2001, reached the state championship game for the first time since 2000.

Follow Urbandale at the Midwest Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.


  Championship Game 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
Monroe County 0 0 0 0 0 3 3 - -
Urbandale 0 1 1 2 3 x 7 - -

Toward the past

Toward the present

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2009, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 12/22/2009