2005 Iowa State Little League® Tournament Results
Unpage Home | Iowa Main Page

Iowa State Tournament
Major Baseball Division

Toward the past

Toward the present

Iowa State Tournament
Host - Fairfield (District 4)

Participating Teams
District 1 Champions Boone National
District 2 Champions Davenport Northwest
District 3 Champions Urbandale
District 4 Champions Davis County (Bloomfield)
District 5 Champions Beaverdale (Des Moines)
District 6 Champions Morningside American (Sioux City)

NOTE: The Iowa State Tournament used a round-robin format in 2005. After preliminary round competition, the top two teams advanced to the championship game.

Click here to view 2005 district tournament results for Iowa.

Tournament Results:

Round 1 (Saturday, July 23):
Urbandale 7, Beaverdale 0
Davis County 6, Boone National 0
Davenport Northwest 12, Morningside American 2

Round 2 (Sunday, July 24):
Davenport Northwest 10, Boone National 2
Morningside American 4, Beaverdale 2
Urbandale 10, Davis County 6

Round 3 (Monday, July 25):
Urbandale 7, Morningside American 6
Davenport Northwest 14, Davis County 0
Beaverdale 10, Boone National 2

Round 4 (Tuesday, July 26):
Davenport Northwest 7, Urbandale 3
Beaverdale 17, Davis County 2
Morningside American 19, Boone National 2

Round 5 (Thursday, July 28):
Morningside American 7, Davis County 1
Boone National 6, Urbandale 4
Beaverdale 3, Davenport Northwest 0




Davenport Northwest 4 1 10
Urbandale 3 2 25
Morningside American 3 2 24
Beaverdale 3 2 15
Davis County 1 4 48
Boone National 1 4 49

The top two teams advance to the state championship game.

Ties are broken based on records in head-to-head competition among tied teams. If a clear winner cannot be determined from head-to-head results, the tie is broken by calculating the ratio of runs allowed to defensive innings played for all teams involved in the tie. The team with the lowest runs-per-defensive-inning ratio advances.

In the event of a tie involving three or more teams, once the initial tie is broken, the remaining tied teams are again compared on head-to-head record to determine if a clear winner can be identified. If no clear winner can be identified from head-to-head results among the remaining tied teams, the runs-per-defensive-inning ratio is again used. This process is repeated until all ties have been broken.

Iowa State Championship Game (Friday, July 29)

Davenport Northwest 5, Urbandale 2 (TITLE)


Austin Smith's two-run single in the third inning put his team in front for good as Davenport Northwest Little League defeated Urbandale Little League, 5-2, at the Iowa state championship game in Fairfield.

The win gave Davenport Northwest its second consecutive Iowa state championship, and sixth overall. Davenport Northwest went on to also win the Midwest Region tournament, and advanced to the Little League World Series for the second consecutive year.

Smith's single, one of his two hits in the game, highlighted a four-run rally as Davenport broke a 1-1 tie. Urbandale cut into the lead with a run in the sixth inning, but Davenport held on behind the complete game, six-hit performance of pitcher Ryan Shumaker.

Northwest had defeated Urbandale, 4-3, in the 2004 Iowa championship game. It marked the first time that the same two leagues reached the Iowa championship game in consecutive years.

Davenport Northwest reached the championship game by winning four of its five round robin games at the state tournament, and opened the tournament with a 12-2 win over Sioux City's Morningside American Little League. Four Davenport pitchers combined on a four-hitter, while Kyle Franklin -- one of two returnees from Davenport's 2004 Little League World Series team -- homered twice and drove in three runs.

James Denkmann and Shumaker also drove in three runs each for the winners, while Denkmann also hit a home run. Davenport took command with a six-run rally in the third inning, then iced the win with five more runs in the sixth.

The next day, Chase Pfab homered and drove in five runs as Davenport Northwest downed Boone National, 10-2. Davenport scored three runs in the first, third, and fourth innings, while taking advantage of four Boone errors in the game. Eric Weiman also homered for the winners.

Davenport then routed Davis County, 14-0, in four innings. Franklin, Pfab, Spencer Mallonee, and Shumaker each pitched an inning in a combined no-hitter, and Davenport scored at least two runs in every inning to breeze to the win.

Weiman homered and drove in three runs, while Luke Rodriguez hit a pinch hit, two-run homer that capped an eight run second inning rally. Mallonee and Brody Grothus (the other returning player for Davenport) each contributed a pair of hits and three RBIs.

Davenport clinched a title game berth the next day with a 7-3 victory over Urbandale. The District 5 winners also clinched the other slot in the championship game despite the loss, thanks to their earlier head-to-head victories over Morningside American and Des Moines' Beaverdale Little League.

With the championship game berths already decided, both eventual finalists dropped their final pool games. Davenport fell victim to pitcher Brad Chelleen's four-hitter in Beaverdale's 3-0 win, while Urbandale lost to Boone County by a 6-4 score.

Davenport Northwest became the fifth District 2 league to win the Iowa championship in a six year span. All five eventually won the Midwest Region title and advanced to the Little League World Series. Davenport Northwest advanced when Shumaker's three-hitter helped to defeat Centennial Lakes East Little League (Circle Pines, Minnesota), 6-4, at the region championship game in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Davenport Northwest also won the Iowa state championship in 1958, 1974, 1979, and 1994.

Follow Davenport Northwest at the Midwest Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.


  Championship Game 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
Urbandale 0 0 1 0 0 1 2 6 1
Davenport Northwest 1 0 4 0 0 x 5 5 1

Toward the past

Toward the present

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2006, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/11/2006