2004 Iowa State Little League® Tournament Results
Unpage Home | Iowa Main Page

Iowa State Tournament
Major Baseball Division

Toward the past

Toward the present

Iowa State Tournament
Host - Sioux City Westside (District 6)
At Kirk Hansen Field

Participating Teams
District 1 Champions Boone National
District 2 Champions Davenport Northwest
District 3 Champions Urbandale
District 4 Champions Je-Wa-Ke (Jefferson/Wapello/Keokuk Counties)
District 5 Champions Walnut Creek Red
District 6 Champions Headid American (Sioux City)

NOTE: The Iowa State Tournament used a round-robin format in 2004. After preliminary round competition, the top two teams advanced to the championship game.

Click here to view 2004 district tournament results for Iowa.

Tournament Results:

Round 1 (Saturday, July 17):
Urbandale d. Walnut Creek Red
Headid American 11, Boone National 3
Davenport Northwest 8, Je-Wa-Ke 6

Round 2 (Sunday, July 18):
Davenport Northwest 18, Headid American 5 (4 innings)
Urbandale 9, Boone National 8 (9 innings)
Je-Wa-Ke d. Walnut Creek Red

Round 3 (Monday, July 19):
Urbandale d. Headid American
Boone National 5, Je-Wa-Ke 2
Davenport Northwest 13, Walnut Creek Red 3 (4 innings)

Round 4 (Tuesday, July 20):
Headid American 11, Je-Wa-Ke 0
Boone National 11, Walnut Creek Red 10 (8 innings)
Davenport Northwest 6, Urbandale 1

Round 5 (Wednesday, July 21):
Headid American d. Walnut Creek Red
Urbandale d. Je-Wa-Ke
Boone National 4, Davenport Northwest 3



Davenport Northwest 4 1
Urbandale 4 1
Boone National 3 2
Headid American 3 2
Je-Wa-Ke 1 4
Walnut Creek Red 0 5

The top two teams advance to the championship game.

Ties are broken based on records in head-to-head competition among tied teams. If a clear winner cannot be determined from head-to-head results, the tie is broken by calculating the ratio of runs allowed to defensive innings played for all teams involved in the tie. The team with the lowest runs-per-defensive-inning ratio advances.

In the event of a tie involving three or more teams, once the initial tie is broken, the remaining tied teams are again compared on head-to-head record to determine if a clear winner can be identified. If no clear winner can be identified from head-to-head results among the remaining tied teams, the runs-per-defensive-inning ratio is again used. This process is repeated until all ties have been broken.

Iowa State Championship Game (Thursday, July 22)

Davenport Northwest 4, Urbandale 3 (TITLE)


Jacob Lafrenz delivered a game-winning single in the bottom of the sixth inning as Davenport Northwest Little League edged Urbandale Little League 4-3 in the Iowa state championship game at Kirk Hansen Field in Sioux City.

The win gave Northwest its first state championship in the major baseball division since 1994, and its fifth overall.

Trevor Kenyon gave Davenport an early lead in the championship game with a two-run homer in the first inning, and Joe Black drove in a run in the fourth. Urbandale tied the game with a three-run rally in the top of the sixth before Lafranz's single in the bottom of the frame scored Justin Black with the winning run.

The win was Northwest's second over Urbandale in the tournament. Davenport had thirteen base hits in a 6-1 win over the District 3 champions in a 6-1 victory during the tournament's round robin phase. Brody Grothus led the Davenport attack with four hits, while Kenyon was 3-for-3. Jacob Gibson doubled and drove in a pair of runs, as Northwest scored twice in the fourth inning and three times in the sixth to extend a early 1-0 lead. Kenyon, who later threw a complete game in the championship round, combined with Andrew Coffman on a five-hitter as Northwest won for the fourth time in the tournament and clinched a berth in the championship game.

Davenport had opened the tournament with an 8-6 win over Je-Wa-Ke Little League, then defeated Sioux City's Headid American Little League and the Walnut Creek Red Little League in games shortened by the ten-run rule. Boone National Little League edged the Quad Cities team 4-3 in extra innings in the teams' final round-robin game after Davenport had clinched its semifinal round berth.

Kenyon was Davenport's leading hitter throughout district and state tournament play, batting .657 and homering seven times. Gibson's .545 batting average and Grothus' .514 average also keyed the offense, while Cody Lambert homered six times for the eventual Iowa champions.

Urbandale, which lost only to Davenport in the tournament, finished with a 12-3 record overall. The District 3 champions reached the state tournament for the second consecutive year after finishing third in the 2003 state tournament.

Follow Davenport Northwest at the Midwest Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.


  Championship Game 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
Urbandale 0 0 0 0 0 3 3 7 0
Davenport Northwest 2 0 0 1 0 1 4 8 3

Toward the past

Toward the present

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2005, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/12/2005