Indiana State Champions in the 1980s

Wabash's seven consecutive trips to the Indiana state tournament -- a state record -- resulted in three state championships. Twice the league made it to within a game of the World Series: in 1983, the Jackie Robinson West LL of Chicago needed nine innings to defeat Wabash in the Central Region championship game, and in 1986 the Norridge (IL) LL beat Wabash twice to emerge from the loser's bracket and claim the region title.

Two leagues -- Southport in 1984 and Chesterfield in 1987 -- did qualify for the World Series, and both reached the U.S. championship game before being eliminated. Terre Haute North's 1981 title (the fifth of six Terre Haute titles) gave the Vigo County seat more state titles than any other Indiana city.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1980s

1989 - George Rogers Clark National (Jeffersonville)
1988 - Wabash
1987 - Chesterfield
1986 - Wabash
1985 - Warren Township National (Indianapolis)
1984 - Southport
1983 - Wabash
1982 - Griffith
1981 - Terre Haute North
1980 - Center Grove (Greenwood)

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 02/20/2002