Indiana State Champions in the 1960s

The balance of power was in Southern Indiana in the 1960s, as Terre Haute American collected four state titles and Jeffersonville's George Rogers Clark Little League captured two. Both programs also reached the World Series. Terre Haute won North Region titles in 1961 and 1968 (and was the regional tournament runner-up in 1962), while Jeffersonville trekked to Williamsport in 1965.

Terre Haute American's back-to-back titles in 1961 and 1962 (and again in 1967 and 1968) made the league the only back-to-back state titlist in Indiana Little League history until Brownsburg won three in a row beginning in 1999. Terre Haute American's four titles remain the most by a single program in the state.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1960s

1969 - Hessville (Hammond)
1968 - Terre Haute American
1967 - Terre Haute American
1966 - Kokomo Northside
1965 - George Rogers Clark (Jeffersonville)
1964 - Gary East Glenn Park
1963 - George Rogers Clark (Jeffersonville)
1962 - Terre Haute American
1961 - Terre Haute American
1960 - Gary Anderson

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 02/20/2002