1999 Indiana State Little League® Tournament Results

Indiana State Tournament

Toward the past

Toward the present

Indiana State Tournament
Host - Fort Wayne Georgetown (District 10)

Participating Teams:
Section 1 Champions
Section 2 Champions
Section 3 Champions
Section 5 Champions
Section 6 Champions
Section 7 Champions
District 9 Champions
District 10 Champions
Cleveland Township
Terre Haute North
Greenwood Center Grove
Fort Wayne Time Corners American

NOTE: Because the tournament was hosted by a league in Section 4, both Section 4 districts (9 and 10) sent their champions directly to the state tournament.

Tournament Results:

Opening Round:
Greenwood Center Grove 4, Delta 3
Fort Wayne Time Corners American 5, Southport 3
Brownsburg 8, Dyer 4
Terre Haute North 5, Cleveland Township 0

Loser's Bracket - Round 1 (eight teams remain):
Delta 8, Southport 4 (elim.)
Dyer 2, Cleveland Township 1 (elim.)

Winner's Bracket Semifinals:
Greenwood Center Grove 2, Fort Wayne Time Corners American 1
Brownsburg 4, Terre Haute North 3

Loser's Bracket Quarterfinals (six teams remain):
Delta 5, Terre Haute North 2 (elim.)
Dyer 3, Fort Wayne Time Corners American 2 (elim.)

Loser's Bracket Semifinals (four teams remain):
Dyer d. Delta (elim.)

Winner's Bracket Finals:
Brownsburg 7, Greenwood Center Grove 4

Loser's Bracket Finals (three teams remain):
Dyer d. Greenwood Center Grove (elim.)

Championship Game:
Brownsburg 9, Dyer 4 (TITLE)


The Brownsburg Little League all-star team capped a memorable summer by claiming championships in the Indiana state tournament and the Central Region tournament en route to a World Series appearance.

Brownsburg rolled through District 8 and Section 2 play without a loss, and then picked up four more wins at the state tournament in Fort Wayne. Brownsburg opened state tournament play with an 8-4 win over 1997 World Series qualifier Dyer, and later clinched the state crown with a 9-4 win over the same club.

Brownsburg's toughest test came in the winner's bracket semifinals, when they edged defending state champion Terre Haute North 4-3. Brownsburg trailed 3-1 after four innings before rallying, and the Bulldogs then had to wait out a three hour rain delay before polishing off the win.

Justin Farley kicked off Brownsburg's game-deciding rally with a leadoff homer in the top of the fifth. After Shawn Veza drew a walk and Colin Steele reached on an error, Alex Hendrickson punched a two-run single to right to push Brownsburg into the lead. Terre Haute outhit Brownsburg 8-4 on the game, but solid defense (the Bulldogs turned a pair of rally-killing double plays in the game's early innings) kept Brownsburg in the game prior to its final rally.

Brownsburg then topped Center Grove 7-4 to advance to the title game against District 2 power Dyer. Dyer, which claimed its eighth district title in an eleven year span prior to the state tournament, reeled off four consecutive wins after the opening round loss to Brownsburg. Dyer then slugged three solo home runs in the title game (Steve Trzupek, Matt Kooy, and Brett Summers supplied the power), but Brownsburg pitcher Matt Snyder held the rest of the Dyer bats in check as Brownsburg pulled away for a 9-4 victory. Gary King paced the Brownsburg offense with three singles, while Cory Dragstem and Lance Lynn added a pair of hits each.

Brownsburg's first-ever state title advanced the Bulldogs to the Central Region tournament in nearby Indianapolis. The Indiana champions rolled to five consecutive wins in pool competition before dispatching Little Lakes North (Shoreview, MN) in the semifinals. Brownsburg's eighteenth consecutive win -- a sloppy 11-8 victory over the Westlawn Little League from Chicago -- earned the Bulldogs their first ever trip to the Little League World Series.

Follow Brownsburg at the Central Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.

Toward the past

Toward the present
The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2004, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 01/15/2004