1998 Indiana State Little League® Tournament Results

Indiana State Tournament

Toward the past

Toward the present

Indiana State Tournament
Championship Game Host - Elkhart Osolo

Participating Teams:
District 1 Champions
District 2 Champions
District 3 Champions
District 4 Champions
District 5 Champions
District 6 Champions
District 7 Champions
District 8 Champions
District 9 Champions
District 10 Champions
District 11 Champions
District 12 Champions
District 13 Champions
District 14 Champions
North Terre Haute
New Albany Township
Fort Wayne St. Joes Central
South Bend Chet Waggoner
Greenwood Center Grove
Mishawaka F.O.P. East End

NOTE: For the first time since 1961, Indiana did not use a sectional feeder tournament prior to the state tournament. Instead, all district champions advanced to a 14-team, double-elimination state tournament.

Tournament Results:

Opening Round:
New Albany Township 6, Hobart 3 (8 innings)
Fort Wayne St. Joes Central 4, Dyer 2
Mishawaka F.O.P. East End 14, Monticello 4
Terre Haute North 9, Greenwood Center Grove 6
South Bend Chet Waggoner 5, Southport 4
Zionsville 7, Wabash 0

Winner's Bracket Quarterfinals
Terre Haute North d. Hagerstown
Jasper 5, New Albany Township 4
Fort Wayne St. Joes Central 11, South Bend Chet Waggoner 1 (4 innings; 10-run rule)
Mishawaka F.O.P. East End 8, Zionsville 3

Loser's Bracket - Round 1 (14 teams remain)
Monticello 10, Wabash 4 (elim.)
Dyer d. Southport (elim.)

Loser's Bracket - Round 2 (12 teams remain)
Hobart 4, South Bend Chet Waggoner 3 (elim.)
Zionsville d. Greenwood Center Grove (elim.)
Dyer 5, New Albany Township 4 (elim.)
Monticello d. Hagerstown (elim.)

Winner's Bracket Semifinals
Mishawaka F.O.P. East End 7, Jasper 1
Terre Haute North 5, Fort Wayne St. Joes Central 4

Loser's Bracket - Round 3 (8 teams remain)
Hobart 6, Monticello 3 (elim.)
Dyer 12, Zionsville 9 (elim.)

Loser's Bracket Quarterfinals (6 teams remain)
Hobary 7, Jasper 3 (elim.)
Dyer 4, Fort Wayne St. Joes Central 3 (elim.)

Winner's Bracket Finals
Terre Haute North 2, Mishawaka F.O.P. East End 0

Loser's Bracket Semifinals (4 teams remain)
Hobart 6, Dyer 5 (7 innings; elim.)

Loser's Bracket Finals (3 teams remain)
Mishawaka F.O.P. East End 6, Hobart 1 (elim.)

Championship Game
Terre Haute North 7, Mishawaka F.O.P. East End 2 (TITLE)


A pair of Terre Haute North hurlers used off-speed pitches to derail Mishawaka East End's high-octane offense and give Terre Haute its first state title in over a decade.

Mishawaka scored 30 runs and clubbed eight home runs in their first three games at the expanded Indiana state tournament, but ran into trouble in its two meetings with Terre Haute North. The teams first met in the winner's bracket finals, where TH pitcher Caleb Jenkins turned in a complete game, three-hit performance in Terre Haute North's 2-0 win.

Terre Haute built its lead early against Mishawaka pitcher Ian McDougal. Leadoff hitter Brett Korenski opened the first with a single and eventually scored on Max Hutson's RBI single. In the fourth, Jenkins scored Terre Haute's second run following a Mishawaka error.

Jenkins mixed his slow curveball and fastball effectively, and took a one-hitter into the sixth inning before escaping a last-ditch Mishawaka rally. A walk and two singles loaded the bases with no outs in the sixth, but Jenkins dug in and recorded a popout for the first out of the inning. After a runner was thrown out at the plate trying to score on a wild pitch, Jenkins ended the game by inducing a fly ball that was caught by the Terre Haute leftfielder. McDougal took the loss despite allowing only four hits and one earned run.

East End earned a rematch with Terre Haute by eliminating a streaking Hobart team 6-1 in the loser's bracket finals. Hobart had lost its opener in the tournament, then won four straight games (including a win over defending state and regional champion Dyer) before losing to Mishawaka.

In the Mishawaka-Terre Haute rematch, pitcher Matt Myles scattered five hits and allowed only three balls to be hit out of the infield to lead Terre Haute to a 7-2 title-clinching win. Myles, who like Jenkins kept Mishawaka hitters off-balance by mixing speeds effectively, helped his own cause with a third-inning homer that gave TH an early 1-0 lead. Jenkins added an RBI single later in the inning, but Mishawaka's Kyle Null tied the score with a two-out, two-strike, two-run single in the fourth.

Terre Haute broke the tie on Max Hutson's solo home run in the fifth inning, and then used five singles -- three of them line drives that hit the outfield fence -- to add four insurance runs in the sixth.

The 1998 Indiana state tournament was the largest state tournament ever staged in the Hoosier state. In prior years, four teams advanced to the state tournament following sectional competition. For the 1998 tournament, however, officials dissolved the sectional structure, and advanced all 14 Indiana district champions directly to the state tournament. Early round games were staged at multiple sites, but all games for the latter stages of the tournament were held at the Elkhart Osolo LL Complex. Three teams from the former Section 1 -- Mishawaka East End, Hobart, and Dyer -- all finished among the top four teams at the expanded state tournament.

Follow Terre Haute North at the Central Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.


  Winner's Bracket Semifinals 1234567 RHE
Jasper 001000141
Mishawaka East End 30301x7101
  Winner's Bracket Semifinals
Terre Haute North 0 2 2 1 0 0 5 8 0
Fort Wayne St. Joes Central 0 0 4 0 0 0 4 4 2
  Loser's Bracket Semifinals
Hobart 4 0 0 0 0 0 2 6 - -
Dyer 0 0 0 3 1 0 1 5 - -
  Winner's Bracket Finals
Terre Haute North 1 0 0 1 0 0 2 4 2
Mishawaka East End 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 3
  Loser's Bracket Finals
Hobart 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 6 -
Mishawaka East End 2 2 0 0 2 x 6 6 -
  Championship Game
Terre Haute North 0 0 2 0 1 4 7 12 2
Mishawaka East End 0 0 0 2 0 0 2 5 1

Toward the past

Toward the present
The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/17/2002