Illinois State Champions in the 1960s

Three Illinois leagues reached the World Series in the 1960s, and all finished strongly against their Lamade Stadium opponents. The Kankakee Jaycees reached the World Series for the third and fourth times with state and region crowns in 1962 and 1966, while Roseland North from Chicago's south side made the trip in 1967.

Roseland North finished second at the 1967 World Series, which was notable as the first series ever won by a team from the Far East (the West Tokyo LL from Japan). The Jaycees also finished as the runner-up in 1962, and their 1966 club dropped their opener at South Williamsport before eventually finishing fifth.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1960s

1969 - Evergreen Park National
1968 - Chicago Westlawn
1967 - Chicago Roseland North
1966 - Kankakee Jaycees
1965 - Harvey American
1964 - Robinson
1963 - Naperville
1962 - Kankakee Jaycees
1961 - Downers Grove National
1960 - Maywood National

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 02/20/2002