Eastern Region Champions in the 1970s

The Eastern Region Tournament's format expanded to include all state champions in the region in 1970, and the tournament later settled for an extended period of time in Newburgh, New York. Five different states sent teams to the Little League World Series, including Maine's first-ever qualifier, but for the first time, a decade passed without a Pennsylvania league claiming a region title.

Two New Jersey leagues that won the East went on to greater fame as Little League World Series champions. The Wayne American LL "mop-tops" defeated Campbell (Northern California) in the 1970 LLWS finale, while Lakewood's 1975 club downed Northridge American (Southern California) in the finals.

Select a year to see details from that year's region tournament.

Eastern Region Champions of the 1970s

1979 - Ridgewood National LL (Ridgewood, NJ)
1978 - Rockville Centre American LL (Rockville Centre, NY)
1977 - Carman LL (Rotterdam, NY)
1976 - Forestville LL (Forestville, CT)
1975 - Lakewood LL (Lakewood, NJ)
1974 - Pop Smith LL (New Haven, CT)
1973 - Colonie LL (Colonie, NY)
1972 - New City LL (New City, NY)
1971 - Augusta East LL (Augusta, ME)
1970 - Wayne American LL (Wayne, NJ)

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2003, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/03/2003