Eastern Region Champions in the 1960s

Pennsylvania's Levittown American LL became the only back-to-back Eastern Region Tournament winner when it roared to consecutive titles in 1960 and 1961. Joe Mormello and Jules Kalkstein led Levittown to a Little League World Series title in 1960, and the Pennsylvania club recorded 23 consecutive victories over two years before finally falling in extra innings in the 1961 LLWS quarterfinals.

Staten Island's Mid-Island LL also carried home a Little League World Series flag in 1964, as did Windsor Locks (Connecticut) in 1965. Windsor Locks' trip to South Williamsport wasn't assured until a wild game-ending triple play helped it to edge the Danvers National LL (Massachusetts) in the Eastern Region finals.

The decade ended with the Williamsport Newberry LL returning home for the Little League World Series after winning the Eastern Region tournament in New Jersey. It marked the only appearance by a Williamsport team in the World Series since 1948.

Select a year to see details from that year's region tournament.

Eastern Region Champions of the 1960s

1969 - Newberry LL (Williamsport, PA)
1968 - Hagerstown National LL (Hagerstown, MD)
1967 - Newtown-Edgmont LL (Newtown Square, PA)
1966 - West New York American LL (West New York, NJ)
1965 - Windsor Locks LL (Windsor Locks, CT)
1964 - Mid-Island LL (Staten Island, NY)
1963 - Stratford Original LL (Stratford, CT)
1962 - Pitman LL (Pitman, NJ)
1961 - Levittown American LL (Levittown, PA)
1960 - Levittown American LL (Levittown, PA)

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2003, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/03/2003