2013 Delaware State Little League® Tournament Results
Unpage Home | Delaware Main Page

Delaware State Tournament
Major Baseball Division

Toward the past

Toward the present

Delaware State Tournament
Host - Newark American (District 2)

Participating Teams
District 1 Champions M-O-T (Middletown)
District 2 Champions Newark National
District 3 Champions Millsboro

Click here to view 2013 district tournament results for Delaware.

Tournament Results:

Opening Round:
M-O-T 13, Millsboro 3 (5 innings)

Winner's Bracket Final:
Newark National 14, M-O-T 12

Elimination Bracket Final:
Millsboro 12, M-O-T 11 (elim.)

Championship Game:
Newark National 12, Millsboro 0 (TITLE)


Two days after watching a 13-1 third inning lead nearly slip away, Newark National Little League held a sizeable 10-0 advantage in their state championship game contest against Millsboro Little League.

With hard-throwing Nathan Hardcastle on the mound and Newark's heavy lumber continuing to score runs, this lead was much more secure.

Newark National overwhelmed Millsboro, 12-0 in four innings, to capture the league's third consecutive state championship in the major baseball division. Two years after falling two games short of the Little League World Series, and a year removed from a 1-0 loss in the Mid-Atlantic Region championship game, Newark National went on to win the region tournament, and become the second-ever Delaware league to reach South Williamsport.

Newark scored in every inning of the championship game, and built a 5-0 advantage before Millsboro came to bat in the bottom of the first inning. After a walk and hit batsman opened the game, Joe Davis drilled an opposite field home run for a quick 3-0 advantage. Two batters later, Eric Ludman homered over the center field fence, and the Nationals added a fifth run later in the inning.

The offense was more than enough for Hardcastle, who had been lifted with a 13-1 lead in Newark's first state tournament game so he would be eligible to pitch again in the championship game. The tall righthander mixed his fastball and changeup well, and struck out nine batters in the four inning contest. Hardcastle fanned two or more hitters in each inning, and did not walk a batter. Millsboro's only hit came when catcher Ethan Watkinson led off the second inning with a single.

Newark, meanwhile, continued to stretch its lead. Hardcastle hit a booming two-run home run in the second -- the ball landed on the roof of an apartment building well beyond the center field fence -- and Davis followed with a solo shot that stretched the lead to 8-0. The District 2 champions added two more in both the third and fourth innings to end the game early due to the mercy rule.

Newark National seemed well on its way to a run-rule victory in its initial state tournament game, a winners' bracket final round matchup with M-O-T Little League. But after Newark built its 13-1 advantage, M-O-T batted around after the second out was recorded in the third inning. Drew Bouldin delivered a two-run single and Craig McCallister added a two-run double, and M-O-T closed to within 13-7.

The next inning, M-O-T further narrowed the gap, scoring five times despite managing only one solid base hit in the inning. A defensive misplay on John Fritz's blooper scored Brandon Anderson and sliced Newark's advantage to a single run.

Davis gave Newark National some breathing room with a run-scoring single in the top of the sixth, and reliever Ryan Miller shrugged off the chaos of the prior two innings and recorded an uneventful 1-2-3 inning to close out the game.

Newark National had built its lead in part due to four home runs in the game's early innings. Ludman and Brandon Sengpachanh each hit three-run homers, and Davis added a two-run shot and a solo home run.

The result dropped M-O-T into the elimination bracket, where Millsboro was able to avenge an earlier defeat by edging the District 1 powerhouse, 12-11. M-O-T had rolled past Millsboro, 13-3 in five innings, on the tournament's opening night, but Millsboro got home runs and a pair of RBIs each from Cade Keeler, Watkinson, and Jacob Anderson in the rematch.

Andrew Kelly also homered for Millsboro, while Luke Wooten (3-for-3, including a grand slam) and Brew Fry homered for M-O-T.

The next night, Newark National cruised past Millsboro and earned the league's eighth state championship in the major baseball division. Newark National, which had won the state's first championship in 1957, joined M-O-T as the only Delaware leagues to win three consecutive state championships, and eventually earned its berth in the Little League World Series with an 8-2 victory over Lionville (Pennsylvania) in the Mid-Atlantic Region championship game.

Follow Newark National at the Mid-Atlantic Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.


  Championship Game 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
Newark National 5 3 2 2 12 - -
Millsboro 0 0 0 0 0 1 -

Toward the past

Toward the present

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2014, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/08/2014