2011 District of Columbia Little League® Tournament Results
Unpage Home | District of Columbia Main Page

District of Columbia Championship Tournament
Major Baseball Division

Toward the past

Toward the present

District of Columbia Tournament
Host - Satchel Paige Senators
At Fort Lincoln Baseball Complex

In Little League divisions other than the major baseball level, all Washington D.C. leagues compete in Maryland District 3, and advance through the Maryland tournament structure. In the major baseball division, the winner of the District 3 tournament (which encompasses only District of Columbia leagues) advances directly to the Mid-Atlantic Region tournament.

Tournament Results:

Opening Round:
Capitol City 14, Northwest Washington 3 (4 innings)

Winner's Bracket Final:
Capitol City 6, Junior D.C. RBI 2

Elimination Bracket Final:
Northwest Washington 3, Junior D.C. RBI 1 (elim.)

Championship Series:
Northwest Washington 6, Capitol City 2
Northwest Washington 6, Capitol City 5 (TITLE)


Northwest Washington Little League bounced back from a mercy rule-margin defeat in its opening game with three consecutive victories, including two over the team that beat them, to claim the District of Columbia championship at the Fort Lincoln Baseball Complex.

Capitol City Little League, had won 19 of the prior 20 District of Columbia championships, handed Northwest Washington a 14-3 loss in four innings in the tournament's inaugural game, and then moved into the title game by downing Junior D.C. RBI Little League by a 6-2 score.

Northwest Washington then won each of the remaining games in the three-team tournament, edging Junior D.C. RBI, 3-1, and sweeping Capitol City by 6-2 and 6-5 scores in the championship series.

Northwest Washington advanced as the District's representative in the Mid-Atlantic Region tournament in Bristol, Connecticut.

It was the fifth consecutive year in which Capitol City and Northwest Washington met to determine the District's championship. Capitol City defeated Northwest Washington, 10-1, in the 2010 District championship game, while Northwest Washington earned its only prior District title in 2009 with a 5-2 championship game decision over Capitol City.

Follow Northwest Washington at the Mid-Atlantic Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.

Toward the past

Toward the present

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2012, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/10/2012