Unpage Home | Colorado Main Page

Colorado State Tournament Milestones

The structure of Little League Baseball's international tournament in Colorado has changed several times since the first state tournament was held in 1958. Key events in the evolution of this structure include the following:

1950sColorado's first leagues were formed in the 1950s, and Lamar Little League became the state's first participant in the international tournament in 1955. Lamar competed in a Region 6 district tournament that encompassed leagues from a far-reaching area that spanned from Colorado to Joplin, Missouri. Lamar continued to compete alongside teams from other states in tournaments leading up to the Region 6 tournament through the 1957 international tournament.
1958The first Colorado state tournament is held, as two new Boulder leagues join Leadville and Lamar in a single-elimination tournament hosted by North Boulder Little League. The Colorado champion advances to the Western Region Division 4 tournament, where they compete alongside state champions from other Southwestern and Rocky Mountain states for a berth in the Western Region tournament.
1964With Little League expanding throughout the state, Colorado adds a second district. Leagues West of the Rocky Mountains compete in District 1, and leagues East of the mountains are placed in District 2. The two district winners then meet to determine the state's champion.
1971District 3 (Denver area) is formed as a split from District 2 (Boulder area and points North).
1972The Colorado winner begins advancing directly to the Western Region tournament rather than first competing in a divisional tournament. Colorado's champion has continued to advance directly to regional tournament competition in every year since this time.
1977District 4 (Colorado Springs area) is formed as a split from District 3.
1981District 5 (Southern portion of the Denver metro area) is formed as a split from District 3.

Also in 1981, Colorado officials use a double-elimination format at the state tournament for the first time.

1988District 4 is dissolved, and its remaining leagues placed into District 5.
1994District 3 is dissolved, and its remaining leagues are placed in District 2. A new District 3 is formed, and includes leagues located in Mountain communities.
2001Colorado is assigned to the Northwest Region as Little League Baseball expands the Little League World Series from eight to sixteen participants.
2002Colorado is re-assigned to the Southwestern Region as Little League Baseball opens a new headquarters for this region in Waco, Texas.
2013District 4 is re-formed in the Durango area as a split from District 1.

Click here to return to the Colorado Little League Tournament Page Main Menu.

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2014, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 04/15/2014