North Region Champions in the 1950s

Art Deras led Hamtramck, MI to its third World Series appearance in five years in 1959, and Hamtramck claimed the only World Series title ever won by a team from the Central or North Region with a 12-0 thrashing of Auburn, CA in the World Series championship game. Escanaba, which competed through Wisconsin and Division 1 tournaments, had beaten Hamtramck in the 1957 region championship game.

The 1958 Kankakee Jaycee squad faced three future major leaguers en route to its second place finish at the Little League World Series. The Jaycees defeated Marion and catcher Ray Fosse in the state tournament semifinals, then downed Rick Wise and his Portland (OR) Rose City LL in the World Series quarterfinals before falling 10-1 in the World Series championship game to Hector Torres and the Monterrey (Mexico) Industrial LL club.

Select a year to see details from that year's region tournament.

North Region Champions of the 1950s

1959 - Hamtramck National LL (Hamtramck, MI)
1958 - Jaycee LL (Kankakee, IL)
1957 - Jaycee LL (Escanaba, MI)

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2003, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/03/2003