Unpage Home | Arizona Main Page

Arizona State Champions in the 1970s
Major Baseball Division

When the Western Region expanded to a 14-state tournament in 1972, Arizona consolidated its two sectional tournaments into a single state tournament. Cactus Little League from Tucson promptly won a pair of state titles, and, in 1973, also reached the Little League World Series championship game.

Other winners during the 1970s were spread throughout the state, including a pair of Phoenix leagues (Washington in 1972 and Thunderbird in 1977), a pair of teams from far Southern Arizona (Douglas American in 1975 and Nogales in 1978), and Superior, which won that league's first state title in 1976.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1970s

1979 - Sunnyside (Tucson)
1978 - Nogales
1977 - Thunderbird (Phoenix)
1976 - Superior
1975 - Douglas American
1974 - Cactus (Tucson)
1973 - Cactus (Tucson)
1972 - Washington (Phoenix)
1971 - Winslow and Pantano (Tucson) (sectional champions)
1970 - Mesa Southern and Casa Grande (sectional champions)

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2010, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 05/01/2010