Unpage Home | Arizona Main Page

Arizona State Champions in the 1960s
Major Baseball Division

Arizona leagues competed in sectional tournaments during much of the 1960s, with two survivors advancing to the Western Region Division 4 tournament alongside winners from state and sectional tournaments in neighboring states. These winners often were placed on opposite sides of the divisional tournament bracket, meaning Arizona did not crown a single winner.

Casa Grande, Kachina-Hopi, and Sahuaro each advanced to play out-of-state competition on two occasions during the decade, but a first-time champion made the state's first deep run in the tournament. South Mountain East Little League emerged from the Valley of the Sun to claim the state's northern sectional championship in 1965, and continued winning until it became Arizona's first-ever Little League World Series qualifier.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1960s

1969 - Catalina-Barcalona
1968 - Downs-Spitalny (Phoenix) and Sahuaro (Tucson) (sectional champions)
1967 - Prescott
1966 - Kachina-Hopi (Phoenix) and Douglas National (sectional champions)
1965 - South Mountain East (Phoenix) and Casa Grande (sectional champions)
1964 - Westwood (Phoenix) and Tucson Western (sectional champions)
1963 - Kachina-Hopi (Phoenix) and Sahuaro (Tucson) (sectional champions)
1962 - Casa Grande
1961 - Tolleson
1960 - Cactus (Tucson)

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2010, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 05/01/2010