2013 Arizona State Little League® Tournament Results
Unpage Home | Arizona Main Page

Arizona State Tournament
Major Baseball Division

Toward the past

Toward the present

Arizona State Tournament
Host - Gilbert (District 14)
At Crossroads District Park and McQueen District Park
Championship Game at McQueen District Park

Crossroads District Park is located at 2155 East Knox Road in Gilbert, and McQueen District Park is located at 510 North Horne Street in Gilbert.

Participating Teams
District 1 Champions West Flagstaff
District 2 Champions Arrowhead (Glendale)
District 3 Champions Paradise Valley North
District 4 Champions Casa Grande
District 5 Champions Canyon del Oro (Oro Valley)
District 6 Champions Mountain View (Scottsdale)
District 7 Champions Westwood (Mesa)
District 8 Champions Rio Rico
District 9 Champions Yuma West
District 10 Champions Verde Valley (Cottonwood)
District 11 Champions Mount Graham (Safford)
District 12 Champions Santa Rita (Tucson)
District 13 Champions Chandler National South
District 14 Champions Desert Ridge (Mesa)

Click here to view 2013 district tournament results for Arizona.

Tournament Results:

Opening Round:
Chandler National South 18, Casa Grande 8 (4 innings)
Rio Rico 6, Westwood 5
Canyon del Oro 16, West Flagstaff 6
Arrowhead 15, Mountain View 4 (5 innings)
Desert Ridge 10, Santa Rita 5
Paradise Valley North 8, Mount Graham 2

Winner's Bracket Quarterfinals:
Chandler National South 17, Verde Valley 6
Canyon del Oro 5, Rio Rico 4
Arrowhead 8, Desert Ridge 6
Paradise Valley North 13, Yuma West 8

Elimination Bracket - Round 1 (fourteen teams remain):
Santa Rita 6, Mountain View 5 (elim.)
Westwood 15, West Flagstaff 9 (elim.)

Elimination Bracket - Round 2 (twelve teams remain):
Rio Rico 8, Mount Graham 1 (elim.)
Desert Ridge 8, Casa Grande 6 (elim.)
Santa Rita 9, Verde Valley 2 (elim.)
Westwood 11, Yuma West 7 (elim.)

Winner's Bracket Semifinals:
Chandler National South 8, Canyon del Oro 4
Arrowhead 13, Paradise Valley North 4

Elimination Bracket - Round 3 (eight teams remain):
Santa Rita 6, Rio Rico 0 (elim.)
Desert Ridge 11, Westwood 1 (elim.)

Elimination Bracket Quarterfinals (six teams remain):
Desert Ridge 11, Canyon del Oro 9 (elim.)
Paradise Valley North 9, Santa Rita 5 (elim.)

Winner's Bracket Final:
Chandler National South 9, Arrowhead 6

Elimination Bracket Semifinal (four teams remain):
Desert Ridge 7, Paradise Valley North 2 (elim.)

Elimination Bracket Final (three teams remain):
Desert Ridge 6, Arrowhead 2 (elim.)

Championship Game:
Chandler National South 14, Desert Ridge 3 (4 innings; TITLE)


Chandler National South Little League brought the heavy lumber from its first game of district play.

The result was an Arizona state championship.

Chandler scored eight or more runs in all twelve games it played against Arizona competition in the District 13 and state tournaments during the 2013 international tournament. The result was twelve consecutive wins, including a mercy rule-shortened, 14-3 victory over Mesa's Desert Ridge Little League in the state championship game at McQueen District Park in Gilbert.

With the win, Chandler National South claimed its fourth state championship in the major baseball division, and advanced to the West Region tournament in San Bernardino, California.

Chandler never trailed in the championship game, as Jacob Thiele doubled in Ty Siffermann with the game's first run, and Kyle Hasler followed with a two-run homer to give the District 13 winners a 3-0 lead after half an inning of play. Desert Ridge pulled two of the runs back in the bottom of the frame, when Tyler Jackson drilled a two-run homer, but Chandler settled matters when they scored nine times in the top of the second inning. Cameron Pehrson and Sifferman each homered during the inning.

"We got on a roll," said Chandler manager Ty Garrison.

"We've done that a lot this season -- put an inning like that together," he added. "Every one of these boys contributed, so it was a great time."

Chandler's offense was front-and-center throughout the international tournament. After outscoring seven opponents by a 100-20 margin during District 13 tournament play, Chandler opened the state tournament with a four inning, 18-8 victory over Casa Grande Little League, then hit double-digits again in a 17-6 win over Verde Valley Little League. Chandler then topped Canyon del Oro Little League by an 8-4 margin -- it was their lowest-scoring game against Arizona competition -- and dispatched perennial powerhouse Arrowhead Little League from Glendale by a 9-6 score in the winner's bracket final.

Arrowhead and Chandler National South have combined to win seven of the past twelve Arizona championships, and also have three runner-up finishes during that span. Chandler National Little League won three of these titles before the league was split into North and South charters prior to the 2008 international tournament.

The loss dropped Arrowhead into the bottom bracket, where the District 2 winners were eliminated by Desert Ridge. Desert Ridge fell to Arrowhead, 8-6 in the winner's bracket quarterfinals, then won five consecutive elimination games, including a 6-2 decision over Arrowhead in the elimination bracket final, to secure its first-ever championship game berth.

Chandler National South's potent offense proved too strong for Desert Ridge in the championship game, and the Arizona champions then moved on to the West Region tournament. Chandler split its four pool games at the region tournament, then fell, 8-1, against Northern California champion Belmont-Redwood Shores Little League in the semifinal round.

Follow Chandler National South at the West Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.

Toward the past

Toward the present

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2014, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/08/2014