2010 Arizona State Little League® Tournament Results
Unpage Home | Arizona Main Page

Arizona State Tournament
Major Baseball Division

Toward the past

Toward the present

Arizona State Tournament
Host - Coolidge (District 4)
At Kenilworth Sports Complex

Participating Teams
Northern Arizona Sectional Champion North Scottsdale (District 6)
Northern Arizona Sectional Runner-Up Arrowhead (Glendale) (District 2)
Southern Arizona Sectional Champion Gilbert National (District 14)
Southern Arizona Sectional Runner-Up Canyon del Oro (Tucson) (District 5)

Click here to view 2010 district tournament results for Arizona.

Tournament Results:

Winner's Bracket Final:
North Scottsdale 6, Gilbert National 5

Elimination Bracket Semifinal (four teams remain):
Canyon del Oro 11, Arrowhead 10 (elim.)

Elimination Bracket Final (three teams remain):
Canyon del Oro 7, Gilbert National 6 (elim.)

Championship Game:
North Scottsdale 13, Canyon del Oro 3 (TITLE)


Pitcher Dylan Cole struck out eight batters and helped supply the offensive punch with a two-run home run as North Scottsdale Little League downed Tucson's Canyon Del Oro Little League, 13-3, in the Arizona state championship game at the Kenilworth Sports Complex in Coolidge.

The win gave North Scottsdale its third state championship in the major baseball division, and its first since 1999. North Scottsdale advanced to the West Region tournament in San Bernardino, California.

Cole had also provided a go-ahead, two-run triple in the opening game of the state final four tournament, a 6-5 victory over Gilbert National Little League. The win marked the only game in five post-district clashes against other Arizona district champions in which North Scottsdale did not reach double-digits in scoring. The District 6 champions topped Tempe South, 22-11, in their opening round game at the Northern Arizona sectional tournament, then overpowered Prescott Valley 13-0 and Glendale's Arrowhead Little League, 11-4, in subsequent tournament games.

In an effort to reduce travel costs, Arizona officials switched the state tournament format from a fourteen-team, round robin tournament to a final four tournament for which leagues qualified based on sectional tournament results.

Canyon del Oro reached the state championship game after emerging from the bottom bracket at the Southern Arizona sectional tournament. The District 5 champions fell by an 11-0 score against Gilbert National in their second sectional tournament game, then won three straight contests to reach the state tournament.

At the state finals, CDO edged Arrowhead, 11-10, then leveraged Spencer Packard's walk-off, two-run homer to avenge their earlier loss to Gilbert National in a 7-6 win.

North Scottsdale won one of its four pool contests at the West Region tournament, and reached the semifinal round before dropping a 12-2 decision against eventual U.S. champion Waipio Little League (Waipahu, Hawaii).

Follow North Scottsdale at the West Region Tournament -- Click here to view results.

2010 Arizona District Champions and Sectional Tournament Results:

Northern Arizona Sectional Southern Arizona Sectional
D1 - Continental (Flagstaff)
D2 - Arrowhead (Glendale)
D3 - High Desert (Anthem)
D6 - North Scottsdale
D9 - Yuma
D10 - Prescott Valley
D13 - Tempe South

Northern Arizona Sectional Tournament
Host - Prescott (District 10)
At Bill Vallely Little League Fields; Rough Rider Park

Tournament Results:
1 - High Desert 5, Continental 0
2 - North Scottsdale 22, Tempe South 11
3 - Prescott Valley 5, Yuma 2
4 - Arrowhead 13, High Desert 4
5 - North Scottsdale 13, Prescott Valley 0
6 - Tempe South 15, Yuma 3 (elim.)
7 - Continental 12, Prescott Valley 2 (elim.)
8 - Tempe South 16, High Desert 15 (elim.)
9 - North Scottsdale 11, Arrowhead 4 (North Scottsdale advances to state with no losses)
10 - Tempe South 14, Continental 10 (elim.)
11 - Arrowhead 31, Tempe South 7 (Arrowhead advances to state with one loss)

D4 - Coolidge
D5 - Canyon del Oro (Tucson)
D7 - Mesa Eastern
D8 - Rio Rico
D11 - Mount Graham
D12 - Pantano (Tucson)
D14 - Gilbert National

Southern Arizona Sectional Tournament
Host - Coolidge (District 4)
At Kenilworth Sports Complex

Tournament Results:
1 - Mesa Eastern d. Mount Graham
2 - Gilbert National 10, Rio Rico 2
3 - Canyon del Oro d. Coolidge
4 - Pantano 10, Mesa Eastern 0 (4 innings)
5 - Gilbert National 11, Canyon del Oro 0
6 - Rio Rico 9, Coolidge 1 (elim.)
7 - Canyon del Oro 21, Mount Graham 1 (elim.)
8 - Rio Rico 12, Mesa Eastern 2 (elim.)
9 - Gilbert National 6, Pantano 2 (Gilbert National advances to state with no losses)
10 - Canyon del Oro d. Rio Rico (elim.)
11 - Canyon del Oro 13, Pantano 6 (Canyon del Oro advances to state with one loss)

Toward the past

Toward the present

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting
Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2011, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 06/11/2011