Thank-you for visiting! This site provides coverage and results for every Southern Region Little League Baseball Tournament held for the major baseball (11-12 years old) division from 1957 through 2000.

"Little League Baseball", "Little League", and "LL" are registered trademarks of Little League Baseball, Inc. Williamsport, PA 17701, and are used here for identification purposes only.

This page's content and author are not in any way associated with Little League Baseball Incorporated, its international headquarters, or any individual league. If you're looking for the official Little League Baseball home page, click here. If you'd like a list of Little League-related sites on the World Wide Web, click here.

What's New

For results and details on Southern Region tournaments held since 2001, visit the Southeast Region tournament page. Five Southern Region states were reassigned to the new Southwest Region beginning in 2002.

Southern Region tournament results from 1957 through 2000 can be found by clicking on the links on the left side of this page.

This site has been on the web since April 26, 1998. Click to contact the webmaster with any comments or questions about this page.

The Southern Region Tournament

For over 30 years, Little League Baseball's Southern Region Tournament was traditionally held each August in St. Petersburg, Florida. State champions from thirteen Southern states gathered to determine which league will represent the South at the Little League World Series in South Williamsport, Pennsylvania.

The longstanding tradition changed in 2001. Little League Baseball expanded the Little League World Series to a sixteen team field, and the number of U.S. entrants at the Little League World Series doubled from four to eight. Little League also formed the new Southwestern Region, which encompasses several states that previously competed in the Southern Region.

The remaining Southern Region now compete in the Southeastern Region tournament. Like the Southern Region tournaments that preceded it, the Southeast Region tournament is held in St. Petersburg. The Southeastern and Southwestern Region fields include the following states:

Southeastern Region Southwestern Region
North Carolina
South Carolina
West Virginia
New Mexico
Texas East
Texas West

Visit our Southeastern Region and Southwestern Region pages for results from region tournaments since 2001.

The Southern Region tournament was held in only three cities over the course of its history. After a two-year stay in the Louisville suburb of St. Matthews, Kentucky, the four-team, single-elimination tournament moved to Norfolk, Virginia in 1959, and later to its current home in St. Petersburg. The tournament became a 13-team event that encompassed all Southern Region state champions in 1971. It eventually used a double-elimination and later an Olympic-style, pool-play format.

Click to view a timeline showing the evolution of the Southern Region Little League tournament structure.

Unpage National and Region Tournament Sites

Australian Region Mid-Atlantic Region Northwest Region
Canadian Region Midwest Region Southeast Region
Great Lakes Region Mountain Region NEW FOR 2022! Southwest Region
Japanese Region New England Region West Region
Metro Region NEW FOR 2022!

Unpage State and Provincial Tournament Sites

Alabama Idaho New Jersey
Alaska Illinois New Mexico
Arizona Indiana New York
British Columbia Iowa Ontario
California (Northern) Kansas Oregon
California (Southern) Maine Pennsylvania
Colorado Maryland Rhode Island
Connecticut Massachusetts Texas (East and West)
Delaware Michigan Vermont
District of Columbia Minnesota Washington
Florida Montana Wisconsin
Georgia Nevada Wyoming

Unpage Region Tournament Sites (1957-2000)

Central Region Southern Region Western Region
Eastern Region

Unpage Region Tournament Sites (1949-1956)

Region 1 Region 4 Region 7
Region 2 Region 5 Region 8
Region 3 Region 6


Links to tournament coverage

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2021, Four Six Three LLC. All rights reserved.