Thank-you for visiting! This site provides coverage and results for every Northern California Divisional Little League Baseball Tournament held for the major baseball (11-12 years old) division since 1957.

"Little League Baseball" and "Little League" are registered trademarks of Little League Baseball, Inc. Williamsport, PA 17701, and are used on this site for identification purposes only.

This site is not in any way associated with Little League Baseball Incorporated, its international headquarters, or any individual league. If you're looking for the official Little League Baseball home page, click here. Links to web sites for many individual leagues and districts can be found in the links section of this site.

What's New

(June 2022) -- We have begun our coverage of the 2022 Northern California divisional tournament -- click for details. If you can provide results or pairings for Northern California district tournaments that are not listed on this site, please contact the Unpage.

This site has been on the web since June 28, 1998. Click to contact the webmaster with any comments or questions about this page.

Thanks to the late Al Bryce from Roseville, California, for his collaboration on the Northern California section of the Unpage web site.

The Northern California Divisional Tournament

There are more Little League baseball programs in California than in any other state. When Little League officials first organized California leagues into districts in 1958, they created 33 districts that were numbered sequentially from far Northern California to San Diego. As Little League's popularity has grown, and as California's population has expanded and migrated, the number of districts in the state has doubled. Today, there are 70 districts in California, including 31 in Northern California. Excluding Southern California's 39 districts, only two other states -- New York and Texas -- encompass more districts than Northern California.

California was first split into Northern and Southern divisions in 1958. In all but three years since that time, both the Northern and Southern California champions have advanced to the West Region tournament, and have generally been the tournament powerhouses. California state or divisional champions have won the West 44 times since 1957, including 15 titles by Northern California leagues. Petaluma National Little League is Northern California's most recent Little League World Series qualifier, having won the region championship and advancing to South Williamsport in 2012.

Northern California's champion is currently decided in a divisional tournament that brings together the winners of seven sectional tournaments. Northern California originally was divided into four sections, and grew to five in 1985 and six in 1992. Today, there are seven sections in Northern California. The structure of these sections has changed constantly over time, with various districts being grouped into different sections as the number of districts in the division has grown.

Additionally, the boundary between Northern and Southern California has changed several times over the years. At one point, leagues as far south as the San Fernando and San Gabriel Valleys competed in Northern California tournaments. Currently, Monterrey County is the southernmost area of the Northern California divisional structure along the coast, and the Bakersfield area is the southernmost point in the San Joaquin Valley. Leagues located south of these areas compete in the Southern California tournament.

The Northern California champions advance to the West Region tournament in San Bernardino, California. The West Region champion then advances to the Little League World Series in South Williamsport, Pennsylvania.

California has sent more leagues (50) to the Little League World Series than any other state, and has produced seven Little League World Series champions. The Campbell Moreland Little League won Northern California's only title in 1962.

Click here to visit a similar page focusing on historical results from the Southern California Divisional Little League tournament.

Click to view a timeline showing the evolution of the California Little League tournament structure.

Unpage National and Region Tournament Sites

Australian Region Mid-Atlantic Region Northwest Region
Canadian Region Midwest Region Southeast Region
Great Lakes Region Mountain Region NEW FOR 2022! Southwest Region
Japanese Region New England Region West Region
Metro Region NEW FOR 2022!

Unpage State and Provincial Tournament Sites

Alabama Idaho New Jersey
Alaska Illinois New Mexico
Arizona Indiana New York
British Columbia Iowa Ontario
California (Northern) Kansas Oregon
California (Southern) Maine Pennsylvania
Colorado Maryland Rhode Island
Connecticut Massachusetts Texas (East and West)
Delaware Michigan Vermont
District of Columbia Minnesota Washington
Florida Montana Wisconsin
Georgia Nevada Wyoming

Unpage Region Tournament Sites (1957-2000)

Central Region Southern Region Western Region
Eastern Region

Unpage Region Tournament Sites (1949-1956)

Region 1 Region 4 Region 7
Region 2 Region 5 Region 8
Region 3 Region 6


Links to tournament coverage

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2022, Four Six Three LLC. All rights reserved.